Posts Tagged ‘ synth pop ’

Mates of State: July 10, 2015 Bowery Ballroom – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

July 15, 2015


Mates of State have been at this since 1997 — an eternity in music career terms, even more so when you consider how au courant their synthpop sound remains in 2015. Kori Gardner and Jason Hammel being married themselves, it’s no surprise that they’re an inspiration to their fellow couples, who comprised most of this Friday-night crowd at Bowery Ballroom. The band’s euphoric sound made a good match for the summer night, as they sailed around their catalog. The set hit its stride about three songs in, with “Staring Contest” from the newly-released You’re Going to Make It EP. After that, things didn’t slow down as the pair demonstrated why they’ve remained relevant for this long. If this live show didn’t quite have the polish of their albums, where the dual-sung verses can be synced and tone-aligned after the fact, it burst with the natural exuberance of the style and setting. Gardner and Hammer didn’t take many pauses as they ripped off this 19-song, 77-minute set rapid fire. My favorite of the numbers was probably “Get Better” from 2008’s Re-Arrange Us. The tempered hope of its conclusion (“Everything’s gonna get lighter / even if it never gets better”) is good advice for anyone.

I recorded this set with a soundboard feed from longtime Bowery engineer Kenny and Schoeps MK4V microphones. The sound quality is excellent. Enjoy!

Download the complete show: [MP3] | [FLAC]

Stream the complete show:

Mates of State
Bowery Ballroom
New York, NY USA

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by acidjack

Thanks to Martin Barna for the setlist

Soundboard (engineer: Kenny) + Schoeps MK4V>KCY>Z-PFA>>Roland R-26>2x24bit/44.1kHz WAV>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (align, mix down, compression)>Izotope Ozone 5 (effects, EQ)>Audacity 2.0.3 (track, amplify, balance, dither)>FLAC ( level 8 )

Tracks [Total Time: 1:17:08]
01 So Many Ways
02 Palomino
03 Staring Contest
04 My Only Offer
05 The Re-Arranger
06 Gonna Get It
07 Whiner’s Bio
08 Parachutes (Funeral Song)
09 Now
10 Sides of Boxes
11 Get Better
12 Ha Ha
13 You Are Free
14 Like U Crazy
15 [banter]
16 Punchlines
17 Beautiful Kids
18 [encore break]
19 Hoarding It For Home [w/ Good Graeff]
20 Someone Like You
21 True Love Will Find You In the End

If you enjoyed this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Mates of State, visit their website, and buy their records from Barsuk Records.


Wild Cub: October 18, 2013 Terminal 5 – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

January 24, 2014

[photo by acidjack]

Some people can’t stand music that isn’t ironic, or witty, or whatever quality it is that keeps half of the 90s indie canon coming back for reunions these days. Odd, then, the pairing of Nashville up-and-comers Wild Cub with 90s stalwarts The Dismemberment Plan, playing the overlarge room at Terminal 5. If a clearer delineation between musical generations could be made in one lineup, I can’t think of one. The D-Plan are a great band — they’re ironic and often witty, sure, and they have some killer tunes. Listening to them makes you feel like an insider — like some people just don’t get it.

Wild Cub make straight up synth pop, relentlessly upbeat and big-tent inclusive. This show was during CMJ, where almost everyone is networking and ignoring the bands anyway, and worse yet, most of them are playing for free. But nobody seemed to have bummed out Wild Cub; they thanked us over and over for our generosity. Even a not-yet-full Terminal 5 couldn’t contain their enthusiasm. It made me feel like a jerk, to be so blown away that these guys were so nice, to wonder, really, what they had to be so effing happy about.

Many of their songs are good, too, full of big hooks and exuding big-hearted earnestness like middle period U2. Just listen to “Thunder Clatter” or the new “Blacktide” — you’ll get the picture. You might even smile, or at least, feel a feeling other than self-indulgent disdain for your fellow man. The band just re-released their debut album, Youth, to the world with two new tracks, and it’s a well-crafted dose of sunshine and songcraft that, in the manner popular these days, drags the guitars onto the dance floor. Up front, they even got some of these D-Plan veterans moving.

Wild Cub aren’t a band for cynics, and maybe that’s a good thing. Maybe your music ought to be happy, no matter how much the real world sucks. Isn’t that what inspires the future to happen, after all?

I recorded this set with Schoeps MK41 microphones and a Sound Devices preamp. The sound quality is limited by being at the back of the floor of Terminal 5, with there being additional echo as the room filled up during the set. Nonetheless, it is a quality capture. Enjoy!

Thanks to Wild Cub’s team for inviting us to record their set.

Stream “Thunder Clatter”

Download the complete show [MP3] | [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Wild Cub
Terminal 5
New York, NY USA

Hosted at
Recorded and produced by acidjack

Schoeps MK41 (BOB, DFC, PAS)>KC5>CMC6>Sound Devices USBPre2>Sony PCM-D50>24bit/48kHz WAV>Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ, exciter)>Audacity 2.0.3 (fades, tracking, amplify, balance, downsample)>FLAC ( level 8 )

01 Shapeless
02 Colour
03 Jonti
04 Wild Light
05 Hidden In the Night
06 Blacktide
07 Wishing Well
08 Thunder Clatter
09 Summer Fires / Hidden Spells

If you enjoyed this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Wild Cub, visit their website, and buy signed LPs and digital versions of Youth there.

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.