Posts Tagged ‘ The Coathangers ’

The Coathangers: April 17, 2014 Baby’s All Right – FLAC/MP3/Streaming Full Set

April 24, 2014

[photos by acidjack. they’re not very good, but the recording is]

The Atlanta all-female punk threesome The Coathangers go for the jugular, but they go for it with a smile. Since their last record, 2011’s Larceny and Old Lace, they no longer have a keyboard player (Candice Jones aka Bebe Coathanger), but stripping down has served them well. The raw ferocity of the remaining members — Minnie Coathanger (Meredith Franco), Crook Kid Coathanger (Julia Kugel) and Rusty Coathanger (Julia Luke) — is more than enough to fill a stage and dominate a forty-five minute set.

This show at Baby’s All Right gave us a look at the material from their 2014 release, Suck My Shirt, and if these songs are any indication, they’re more than fine without the keyboards. The ladies in this band share vocal duties producing an enticing mix of babydoll sweetness and punk snarl. The band’s other most notable component is their shared sense of humor, which can run to dark places, starting with the band name (a reference to the bad old days of abortion).

Throughout the set, the band offered ample doses of self-effacing humor to go with their reckless, infectious songs. When we last saw them, Larceny and Old Lace had just hit the shelves, and they gave new life to several of those now-keyboardless songs like the burner of a set opener, “Johnny” and melodic, somewhat slower-paced “Trailer Park Boneyard”, which was one of my favorites. The new Suck My Shirt material really shone, from the blistering “Adderall” and “Springfield Cannonball” to the rough and raucous “Smother”. The night’s closer, “Don’t Touch My Shit”, was perhaps the perfect example of how punk can grow up without getting lame. The band brought the eight-year old daughter of a friend of the band a young girl who is (one of the band members’ relatives/daughter? If you know… feel free to let me know in the comments) in on guest vocals. We were warned that she’d be saying some bad words, and she did. Best to get them started off early if you want ’em to turn out right!

This recording is a digital multitrack recording and the sound quality is outstanding. Enjoy!

Stream the entire set and download individual tracks (full set downloads below):

Download the complete show: [MP3]  | [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.


The Coathangers
Baby’s All Right
Brooklyn, NY USA

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded by Devin Foley and acidjack
Produced by acidjack

Multichannel digital multitrack 24bit/48kHz files>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (compression, alignment, mixdown, fades)>Izotope Ozone 5.5 (effects, EQ)>Audacity 2.0.3 (tracking, amplify, balance, downsample, dither)>FLAC ( level 8 )

Tracks [Total Time: 44:14]
01 [intro]
02 Johnny
03 Smother
04 Follow Me
05 Trailer Park Boneyard
06 Sicker
07 Springfield Cannonball
08 Call To Nothing
09 Arthritis Sux
10 Adderall
11 Hurricane
12 Derek’s Song
13 Sex Beat [The Gun Club]
14 Shut Up
15 Cheap
16 [banter]
17 Don’t Touch My Shit

If you enjoyed this recording, please support The Coathangers, visit their website and buy their records from Suicide Squeeze Records.

The Coathangers: June 24, 2011 285 Kent – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

July 12, 2011

[photo courtesy of Edwina Hay]

If there’s a really an identifiable punk/garage “ethic”, the Coathangers do it right. The band plays their instruments with abandon, writes songs that tell it straight, and at their wild live shows, they don’t hold anything back or pull any punches. At their most recent NYC show a couple of weeks back at DIY venue 285 Kent, the Coathangers played a beyond-punk-length set that was extraordinarily entertaining for all the right reasons. Their energy, sense of humor, and apparent disregard for convention was evident from the outset — “Johnny” is a screaming punk song that set the tone that continued throughout songs like “Gettin Mad and Pumpin Iron”, “Nestle in My Boobies” and early 7″ release “Shake Shake” (streaming below). In between, the band performed much of their brand new release Larceny & Old Lace (Suicide Squeeze). As they were faced with an opening set deadline, the band continued to play through house music and ultimately when the microphone power was cut, performed the last song completely off-mic. It didn’t seem to matter though, as the massive crowd participation propelled the Coathangers to the finish.

I recorded this set with the Neumann microphones on an eight-foot stand next to the soundboard and mixed it with a vocal-heavy soundboard feed. This room presents many audio challenges and the mix and balance of this recording was a difficult prospect. We’ve done the best under the circumstances, and hope you enjoy!

Stream “Shake Shake”:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Direct download of complete show in MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

The Coathangers
285 Kent
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 16bit 44.1kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 47:01]
01 Johnny
02 Toomerhead
03 Hurricane
04 Trailer Park Boneyard
05 Gettin Mad and Pumpin Iron
06 [banter]
07 Sick Sick Birds
08 Call To Nothing
09 [banter2]
10 My Baby
11 [banter3]
12 Jaybird
13 Shake Shake
14 [banter4]
15 Arthritis Suxx
16 Well Alright
17 Chicken 30
18 Pussywillow
19 Nestle in My Boobies
20 Cheap Cheap
21 Don’t Touch My Shit

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The Coathangers, visit their website, follow them on Facebook, and purchase their official releases at the Suicide Squeeze Records website [HERE].

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.