Posts Tagged ‘ Twins ’

Ty Segall: February 1, 2013 Webster Hall – Flac/MP3/Streaming

February 4, 2013

[photos by PSquared Photography]

Our last visit with Ty Segall was less than six months ago in the intimate DIY venue Death By Audio, when Ty played an unannounced “secret show” to a frenzied crowd of about 100 people. That show was one of our favorite ones of 2012 for a variety of reasons, not the least of which was that we were able to see this exciting and uber-talented performer from only a few feet away. Ty is perhaps the premiere current garage rock purveyor and his star continues to grow. On Friday, Ty Segall sold out Webster Hall. This was not a soft sell out — tickets prices were inflated five times over on various secondary markets for weeks before the show. After two outstanding opening sets by Ex-Cult and Mac DeMarco (coming soon), Ty took the stage in front of a completely manic crowd literally stuffed into every inch of the floor. It didn’t take long for space to clear however, as the moshing was frequent and intense and consisted of a majority of the floor dwellers. Our vantage point was quite different from DBA, as we occupied our usual Webster spot on the right side of the soundboard perch which gave us a full vantage point of the entire crazy floor. But while the crowd was certainly entertaining and a hoot to watch, the real action was on stage where Ty and his band ripped through an hour-long set. The setlist included five songs from his latest album the outstanding Twins and a good mix of old and new material going all the way back to his first official 7″ “Skin”. Ty Segall’s tour continues through the middle of February and moves through the midwest, dates here.

I recorded this show from the soundboard perch with the Sennheiser cards mixed with an excellent board feed and the sound quality is outstanding. Enjoy!

Stream “I Bought My Eyes”:

Stream “Standing at the Station”:

Download the Complete show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Ty Segall
Webster Hall
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Sennheiser MKH-8040s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, downsample set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and Tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 56:06]
01 [introduction]
02 Thank God for Sinners
03 You’re the Doctor
04 I Bought My Eyes
05 Tell Me What’s Inside Your Heart
06 Finger
07 Standing at the Station
08 Girlfriend
09 The Tongue
10 Handglams
11 The Hill
12 Skin
13 [banter – Judith]
14 Wave Goodbye
15 [banter – crowd]
16 Oh Mary
17 [banter – Chris Shaw intro]
18 Imaginary Person [Chris Shaw vocals]
19 [banter – ZZ Top]
20 My Sunshine
21 I Am With You
22 Inside Your Heart

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Ty Segall, visit his website, and purchase his latest album Twins from Drag City Records [HERE].

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.