Nada Surf: March 26, 2010 The Bell House – FLAC and MP3 Downloads

March 30, 2010

[Photo courtesy of David Andrako]

Nada Surf’s first single, “Popular,” was released in 1996.  It made the rounds on “alternative” radio pretty heavily, along with the hits of a number of contemporaries who are long forgotten.  Nada Surf’s trajectory could have been the same – permanent one-hit wonder status, forever relegated to “Remember the 90s” comps and theme party shout outs.  But after being dropped by their label before their second record could even be released in the U.S., Nada Surf took a different tack, recommitted to their music, and continued on.  That turned out to be a good decision, as their third and fourth records, Let Go and The Weight is a Gift were, if not commercial blockbusters, critical successes, stocked with well-crafted, timeless pop-rock instant classics like “Blonde on Blonde” and “In the Mirror.”  Rather than crumple into the rock n’ roll scrap heap, Nada Surf have aged and succeeded gracefully.

This night’s show at The Bell House was the second in a series of NYC-area concerts celebrating one of the band’s 2000s-era albums, with Let Go being played the previous night at Bowery Ballroom, and Lucky being performed in full the following night at Music Hall of Williamsburg.  This show (the only one of the three that nyctaper was able to get tickets to, unfortunately) celebrated The Weight is a Gift, the 2005 follow-up to the successful Let Go.  After playing the album straight through, the band returned to play an even longer second set that combined other classics from their repertoire like “Whose Authority” with new covers that are set to appear on the forthcoming covers album, if i had a hi-fi.  Guests included John Roderick of The Long Winters, who also gave a fantastic solo set that we hope to post in the future will post very soon.  This included a rendition of Depeche Mode’s “Enjoy the Silence” that, true to Nada Surf’s aesthetic, turned that band’s dark, brooding classic into a more upbeat pop number, along with covers of Kate Bush, the Go-Betweens, Dwight Twilley, and the Clash.   Today’s Nada Surf is a mature, fully realized rock band, but this night proved that they haven’t lost any of the youthful exuberance that attracted fans in the first place (and as the picture below shows, apparently neither have their fans!).

This recording combines the DPA microphones with an excellent house mix by the Bell House staff, and the sound quality is outstanding.  Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE).

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Nada Surf
The Bell House
Brooklyn, NY  USA

An acidjack master recording
recorded and produced by acidjack for

Equipment: Stereo soundboard feed + DPA 4021>Edirol R-44 (24/44.1)
Position: ROC, mics at approx 11? from floor height, pointed at stacks
Mastering: 2×24bit WAV>Audacity (mixdown, adjust levels, slight compression, set fades, tracking, amplify each channel, downsample)>FLAC ( level 8 )

Set 1 [The Weight Is A Gift – 44min]
01 intro
02 Concrete Bed
03 Do It Again
04 banter
05 Always Love
06 banter
07 What Is Your Secret?
08 Your Legs Grow
09 All Is A Game
10 Blankest Year
11 Comes A Time
12 In the Mirror
13 Armies Walk
14 Imaginary Friends

Set 2 [60min]
15 set break/intro
16 Weightless
17 Whose Authority
18 Enjoy the Silence [Depeche Mode]
19 Love Goes On [The Go-Betweens]
20 80 Windows
21 banter
22 Electrocution
23 banter
24 Bad Best Friend
25 banter
26 You Were So Warm [Dwight Twilley]
27 Love and Anger [Kate Bush]
28 The Plan
29 See These Bones
30 Hyperspace
31 encore break
32 I Fought the Law [The Clash]

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Nada Surf, visit their website, and purchase their official releases from the band’s official store here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.