Dead Confederate: September 28, 2010 Music Hall of Williamsburg – FLAC and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

October 9, 2010

[iPhone photo by acidjack]

One of the gratifying aspects of the taping hobby is discovering new music from like-minded tapers.  Of course, that isn’t always easy for me, given that most of the bands that are regulars on the “taper circuit” don’t have much in common with what I am into musically.  That is why I always pay extra attention to Southern Shelter, a taper blog run by a fan in Athens, GA with fairly similar taste in music and very similar taste in high-end recording gear.  His excellent recordings of Dead Confederate led me to check the band out at Music Hall of Williamsburg last month (I had not realized that we covered their show at Piano’s back in 2008!), and the show they put on, despite the room not being completely packed, was a standout for them.  Reams of special guests joined the band onstage, including DJ Logic, the band Alberta Cross, and Kevin Kinney.  Don’t let the Southern-sounding name of this Athens band fool you – there are no country stylings to be found here.  Confederate’s heavy sound unabashedly references 90s acts like Nirvana and Dinosaur Jr., with frontman Hardy Morris carving out his own territory on vocals that have more of a straight-ahead rock flavor.  The set closed out with an extended cover of “Rockin In the Free World” that jammed into “This Land Is Your Land” and back, with Kevin Kinney taking over the bulk of vocal duties.

As I was running late, I recorded this set from the optimum position in the venue with my small mobile rig.  While it is still better quality than 95% of the live recordings to be found on the Internet, this recording is not quite up to my usual standards.  In addition, there is noticeable hiss on “Rockin in the Free World’s” intro and during the “This Land Is Your Land” portion due to the volume control of the recorder slipping down and the resulting signal having to be boosted much more than usual in post-production.  Nonethess, this will be a nice document of a unique show, and I hope the sample shows I am being too hard on the sound quality.  Enjoy!

This Recording is now available to Download in FLAC and MP3 and to Stream at [HERE].

Dead Confederate
Music Hall of Williamsburg
Brooklyn, NY  USA

An acidjack master recording
Recorded and produced by acidjack for

Equipment: Audix 1280c>Church Audio Active Cables>SPSB-10>Sony PCM-M10 (24/44.1)
Position: FOB, DFC, mobile rig
Mastering: 24bit/44.1kHz WAV>Audacity (set fades, levels) FLAC Level 8

Tracks [Total Time 1:13:59]
01 Smoking A Minor (fades in)
02 All The Angels
03 Heavy Petting
04 The Rat>
05 Quiet Kid
06 banter
07 Run From The Gun#
08 Giving It All Away@
09 Mob Scene^
10 By Design^
11 Start Me Laughing
12 banter
13 Tortured-Artist Saint
14 encore break
15 Rockin in the Free World>This Land Is Your Land>Rockin in the Free World&

# w/ Ben Wigard and horns
@ w/ Alberta Cross
^ w/ DJ Logic
& w/ Kevn Kinney

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Dead Confederate, visit their website, and purchase their records from their official store here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.