Yo La Tengo: December 12, 2012 Maxwell’s (Hanukkah Night 5) – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

December 17, 2012

[Photos by acidjack]

Text “Brooklyn” to 25383 to donate $10 to the Brooklyn Recovery Fund

For the fifth night of Hanukkah, Yo La Tengo dedicated their show to Brooklyn and to benefit the Brooklyn Recovery Fund, and honored the borough’s rich hip-hop tradition with the somewhat off-the-wall guest opener of El-P. If special guest stars during the main set are your favorite thing about these Hanukkah shows, tonight was not your night, as we didn’t get to experience a rapping Ira, James or Georgia or find hip-hop beats blaring behind “Mr. Tough”. But if Ira’s patented guitar freakouts are more your bag, then this set that went more or less from quiet to loud gave you plenty to love. From the opening solo of “From A Motel 6” into “I Should Have Known Better” to the screaming three-song suite of “Deeper Into Movies” into “Some Kinda Fatigue” into “Sugarcube”, this was a night where the band could shine without any added players. And after that trio came the sprawling “The Story of Yo La Tengo”, a song that, if any in their catalog, is worthy of the name, evolving from a spare organ intro into a full-blown squall of guitar, Ira barely visible from the back of Maxwell’s as he hunched over to will the notes from his instrument. While by Hanukkah standards this set could be billed as a “conventional” one (albeit, one that also saw the debut of another new song, “Cornelia and Jane”), it was, in the story of this 2012 Hanukkah run, no less vital.

I recorded this set in the same manner as the other nights, this time with Schoeps MK5 microphones to produce a fuller, warmer sound.  Like all of the recordings released so far, this one benefited from a beautiful house mix by the band’s engineer Mark, and is another outstanding document of the band. Enjoy!

Tonight’s show was a benefit for The Brooklyn Recovery Fund. We ask that if you download this show, you contribute to the charity, which you can easily do by texting “Brooklyn” to the number at the top of this page. Although you are not required to donate to the charity in order to download this show, Yo La Tengo would greatly appreciate it if you would.

Stream “Deeper Into Movies”

Download the MP3 files [HERE] | Download the FLAC files [HERE]
Please note: Due to high download volume, we are hosting these files off-site. The off-site host has a maximum download limit of 500, which will periodically be reached. Please let us know if the download limit is reached and we will re-upload the files in a new location.  

If the FLAC link is no longer working, email nyctaper for the FLAC files

Follow acidjack on twitter

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.


Yo La Tengo
Hanukkah Night 5
Hoboken, NJ USA

Exclusive download hosted at nyctaper.com
Recorded and produced by acidjack

Benefit for the Brooklyn Recovery Fund
Setlist courtesy of Jesse Jarnow (www.jessejarnow.com)

Soundboard (engineer: Mark) + Schoeps MK5>CMC6>Sound Devices USBPre2>>Edirol R-44 [OCM]>2x24bit/48kHz WAV>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (mix down, adjust levels)>Izotope Ozone 5 (light EQ and exciter)>Audacity 3.0 (set fades, tracking, amplify, balance, downsample)>FLAC ( level 8 )

Tracks [Total Time: 1:33:23]
01 [intro]
02 From A Motel 6>
03 I Should Have Known Better
04 Here To Fall
05 [banter1]
06 Can’t Forget
07 I Can Hear Music [Jeff Barry, Ellie Greenwich & Phil Spector]
08 [banter2]
09 If It’s True
10 Mr. Tough
11 Nowhere Near
12 [banter3]
13 Cornelia and Jane
14 Deeper Into Movies>
15 Some Kinda Fatigue>
16 Sugarcube
17 The Story of Yo La Tengo
18 [encore break]
19 Dog Meat [Flamin’ Groovies]
20 [banter4]
21 Hanky Panky Nohow [John Cale]

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Yo La Tengo, visit their website, and pre-order the new album Fade from Matador Records [HERE].


Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to Yo La Tengo: December 12, 2012 Maxwell’s (Hanukkah Night 5) – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

  1. Srdjan
    December 17, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    Thanks a lot for all of YLT shows :)

  2. Smintjes
    December 18, 2012 at 11:23 am

    Thanks again! The sound quality is exceptional!

  3. sometimesalways
    December 25, 2012 at 6:50 pm

    It seems that the MP3 link has reached its download limit. Any chance of a re-upload?

  4. acidjack
    December 25, 2012 at 6:56 pm

    Thanks for letting us know. The MP3 link is active again.

  5. Thorsten
    December 28, 2012 at 1:03 pm

    Vielen Daak für die Shows – great work, thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.