Disappears: April 25, 2013 Knitting Factory – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

May 7, 2013

[Photos by acidjack]

Chicago’s Disappears distinguish themselves by being both consistent and prolific. Since their 2010 full-length debut, Lux, they’ve cranked out one consistent release after another, from 2011’s Guider EP to 2012’s Pre-Language plus a live album. This year has already seen two more releases, the 12″ EP Kone and single-sided and limited 12″ EP A New House In A New Town. Each of these releases has offered incremental refinements to their dark post-punk sound. This show at the Knitting Factory Brooklyn was my first time seeing  Kone done live, and the title song and its b-side “Kontakt” offer some clues as to where the band’s sound is heading. Both those songs represent longer-form compositions than the tightly-paced stuff from Pre Language, but the new style works for the band, broadening their palette a bit. But fear not, this set still featured several of the band’s floor-fillers, including the one-two punch of “Replicate” and “Pre Language early in the set. There were also a handful of songs I could not identify that I believe were either new or from the A New House In A New Town EP, but any more information would be appreciated. The band also played three new songs — “Girl”, “Power” and “Elite Typical” — from their forthcoming new LP, expected late this summer. Thanks to Disappears for clearing that up, and here’s to that new record!

I recorded this set with MBHO KA200N cardiod microphones and an excellent soundboard feed of the house mix by the Knit engineer Rob and Disappears’ traveling FOH. The sound quality is excellent. Enjoy!

Stream “Kone”

Direct download of the entire show [MP3] | [FLAC]

Follow acidjack on twitter

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense.  The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.


Knitting Factory
Brooklyn, NY USA

Exclusive download hosted at nyctaper.com
Recorded and produced by acidjack

MBHO KA200N>MBP603>Aerco MP-2 + Soundboard (engineer: Rob)>>Edirol R-44 [OCM]>2x24bit/48kHz WAV>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (align, mix down)>Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ, effects)>Audacity 3.0 (fades, tracking, amplify, balance, downsample)>FLAC ( level 8 )

01 [unknown1] Girl
02 Replicate
03 Pre Language
04 [unknown2] Power
05 [unknown3] Elite Typical
06 Minor Patterns
07 Kone
08 Love Drug
09 Joa
10 Kontakt

If you enjoyed this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Disappears, visit their website, and purchase their records, including Kone, from their online store [HERE]

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to Disappears: April 25, 2013 Knitting Factory – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

  1. May 7, 2013 at 10:19 am

    this sounds great, thanks so much. the missing tracks are from a new album coming late this summer:

    01. girl
    04. power
    05. elite typical

  2. acidjack
    May 7, 2013 at 10:25 am

    Thanks guys! Will update the track listing also.

  3. Andrew
    May 8, 2013 at 2:53 pm

    Brian probably won’t say it, so I will—that new LP is fucking fantastic. Not to be missed.

    Thanks for the download of the show; looking forward to listening to it.

  4. May 13, 2013 at 10:55 pm

    Thanks for posting! Hoping the setlist is similar for the BOTH show in EssEff…can’t wait! Hope the guys don’t mind a few YT vids posted soon after…(grin)

  5. Koen
    June 1, 2013 at 2:27 pm

    Great show, 3 new songs & 2 Kone EP songs (witch i just bought, some different from the other records but typical Disappears sound and as always is just love it).
    Looking forward to the new record & i hope to see Disappears back in Europe, Belgium/north France (last time in Tourcoing, Le Grand Mix, was super!)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.