Lucius: April 10, 2013 Webster Hall – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

May 9, 2013

[Photos courtesy of Dominick Mastrangelo Photography]

We were captivated by Lucius when they joined us for a Backyard Brunch Session last year, and since that time, their buzz has only grown. After being hailed as a “band to watch” by multiple outlets leading up to and after this year’s SXSW, the band landed a slot opening for Caveman on their headlining tour. This homecoming show at Webster Hall gave Lucius a chance to give it their all in front of the hometown fans. They showed off three new songs, in addition to some of the numbers we fell in love with during the session, like “Go Home”. One could be forgiven for mistaking Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig for sisters; the pair sing their harmonies so tightly you might think they’d been doing it since childhood. With a full band behind them for this set, their sound was able to fill the big room without losing the delicacy that made it special for us in that backyard in East Williamsburg. Look for the band to have an LP to share soon.

I recorded this set with Schoeps MK41 supercardiod microphones from our usual spot in the venue, plus the soundboard feed used for the Caveman recording. There are a few trouble spots during the first song as the levels were getting dialed in by the engineer; otherwise the sound quality is excellent. Enjoy!

Stream “Genevieve”

Direct download of the complete show: [MP3] | [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.


Webster Hall
Brooklyn, NY USA

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded by nyctaper and acidjack
Produced by acidjack

Schoeps MK41 (balcony, DFC, DINa)>KCY>Z-PFA>Sound Devices USBPre>Sony PCM-D50 + Soundboard>R-44 [OCM]>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (align, mix down)>Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ, tape effect)>Audacity 3.0 (fades, tracking, amplify, balance, parallel compression, downsample)>FLAC ( level 8 )

Tracks (thanks to reader Joey T for the corrected setlist)
01 Sing This All Together [Rolling Stones]
02 Go Home
03 Don’t Just Sit There
04 Genevieve
05 Tempest
06 How Loud Your Heart Gets
07 Wildewoman
08 [banter]
09 Two Of Us On The Run

If you enjoyed this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Lucius, visit their website, and purchase their EP from [HEREor on iTunes.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to Lucius: April 10, 2013 Webster Hall – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

  1. May 11, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    Hi there,
    This sounds great. Just as an FYI:
    “New Song 3” is called “How Loud Your Heart Gets”
    Also, “Two of Us On the Run” and “Wildewoman” are titled backwards.

    Thanks for taping and posting this!!

  2. Joey-T
    May 27, 2014 at 1:26 pm

    The tracklist is as follows:

    01 Sing This All Together (Rolling Stones cover)
    02 Go Home
    03 Don’t Just Sit There
    04 Genevieve
    05 Tempest
    06 How Loud Your Heart Gets
    07 Wildewoman
    08 (banter)
    09 Two Of Us On The Run

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.