Cass McCombs: November 1 and October 31, 2014 Rough Trade – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

November 16, 2014

[photos by acidjack]

On night two of the Cass McCombs / Meat Puppets stand at Brooklyn’s Rough Trade, the order was switched, with McCombs the “headliner” playing the longer set. Since his breakout moment a few years ago, McCombs has shifted direction a bit, turning his sound toward the jammier side of things with an expanded band. We pointed this out last year when McCombs first brought his material from Big Wheel and Others to the stage at Bowery Ballroom. This time, Cass had a new band in tow but a similar attitude, letting songs proceed at a languid pace that gave the band time to grow into the tunes. In that sense, the two shows offer a bit of a contrast, as the Halloween show finds the band self-editing a bit to make the time requirements, while the November 1st show gives you a full-on jamfest, including a very extended version of “County Line” from 2011’s breakout Wit’s End as an encore. Once again it was arguably the Halloween show that once again took the cake, as the reduced set time both focused Cass’ energies and also yielded a unique cover of Metallica’s “The Unforgiven”. Whatever your Cass preferences, this twofer tour with the Meat Puppets is a can’t miss. The bands are finishing up this year on the West Coast, with the tour dates here.

Each of these sets were recorded in the same manner as Eric PH’s and my respective sets from Halloween. The November 1st set was recorded with Schoeps MK41 microphones and a soundboard feed from Kyle of Rough Trade, while the Halloween show is Audio Technica 3031 microphones and Kyle’s feed. Both are excellent. Enjoy!

Download acidjack’s 11/1 show: [MP3] | [FLAC]

Download Eric’s 10/31 show: [MP3] | [FLAC]

Stream “The Unforgiven” [Metallica] from 10/31:

Stream the full 11/1 show:

Cass McCombs
Rough Trade NYC
Brooklyn, NY USA

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by acidjack

Soundboard (engineer: Kyle) + Schoeps MK41 (at SBD, DINa)>KCY>Z-PFA>Sound Devices USBPre2>>Edirol R-44 [OCM]>2x24bit/48kHz WAV>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (mix down, compression, fades, align)>Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ, effects)>Audacity 2.0.5 (track, amplify, balance, downsample)>FLAC ( level 8 )

Tracks [total time: 1:35:42]
01 Big Wheel
02 Morning Star
03 A
04 Home On the Range
05 Angel Blood
06 Brighter!
07 Buried Alive
08 Lionkiller
09 [banter]
10 Multiple Suns
11 Everything Has to Be Just So
12 The Same Thing
13 Not the Way
14 [encore break]
15 County Line
Cass McCombs
October 31, 2014
Rough Trade NYC
Brooklyn, NY

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by Eric PH

Audio Technica 3031 + Soundboard > Roland R-26 > 2x24bit/48kHz WAV > Audacity 2.0.5 (set fades, mixdown, tracking, tagging) > FLAC (level 8)

01. That’s That
02. Equinox
03. Big Wheel
04. Sooner Cheat Death Than Fool Love
05. Aeon of Aquarius Blues
06. Brighter!
07. Robin Egg Blue
08. Dreams Come True Girl
09. [Instrumental]
10. Love Thine Enemy
11. Name Written in Water
12. City of Brotherly Love
13. The Unforgiven [Metallica]

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, PLEASE SUPPORT Cass McCombs, visit his website, and purchase Big Wheel And Others from the Domino Records website [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.