Stars: November 10, 2014 Music Hall of Williamsburg – Flac/MP3/Streaming

November 14, 2014

November 10, 2014[photos courtesy of Jill Harrison and For the Love of Brooklyn]

This past Monday night, the Stars began their tour in support of new album No One Is Lost and made their third stop in Brooklyn at the Music Hall of Williamsburg. After a fantastic opening set from fellow Canadian band Hey Rosetta!, the Stars took the stage to the sweet, lonely lilt of Judy Garland and promptly kicked off the party with the first single from their new album, “From The Night.” The sold-out crowd apparently read an album review or three and figured a dance party might happen, so when the retro disco beat kicked in and singers Torquil Campbell and Amy Millan hit the chorus, it felt like the weekend was back in full force.

Much of the press about the new album has focused on how the band is making more dance tunes — and yes, Millan did collaborate on a recent track with EDM DJ Porter Robinson. But the real story seems to be that the cute, ironic fatalism that was present in the younger band’s work has evolved; the cabaret has shuttered because the stakes are too high. In fact, during the recording of No One Is Lost, the band’s long-time tour manager, Eoin O’Leary, was diagnosed with cancer. So if the Stars are guilty as charged of making a big fat dance album, so be it; O’Leary is now in recovery, and there is cause to celebrate.

On Monday, while there was certainly plenty of dancing, there was also a huge variety. Slow burners, disco tracks, and the good old-fashioned pop songs the Stars are known for — they made sure the setlist had something in it for everyone. The lineup was a mix of brand new songs and deep cuts dating all the way back to their debut album, Nightsongs. One of, if not the very highest points of the night was a reworked version of “Going, Going, Gone,” which Emily Haines of Metric sang with the band back in 2001. While the original version is earnest, spare and stripped down, the new version they performed Monday night featured melancholy synths, a minimalist backbeat, and heartbreakingly beautiful vocals. The new version felt more like a downtempo afterhours clubby version of the Stars — in the best of ways.

Other highlights included 2012’s “Hold On When You Get Love and Let Go When You Give It,” a sing-along for crowd favorite “Elevator Love Letter,” and a raucous new song called “Trap Door” that would make Ric Ocasek proud. The band closed out the main set with the new album’s title track, and all the arms in the venue went up in unison at the refrain: “Put your hands up because everybody dies!”

I recorded Stars using a pairs of Schoeps hypercardiod microphones and a soundboard feed graciously provided by the band and house engineers. They did an outstanding job and the sound quality is excellent. We hope you enjoy!

Download the complete show: [MP3] | [FLAC]

or Permanent Links:
[MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.


Music Hall of Williamsburg
Brooklyn, NY

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and Produced by hi and lo

Source: Soundboard (Engineer: Marty) + Schoeps MK41 > KCY > Naiant PFA > Sound Devices 744T @ 24 bit / 48 kHz

01. Intro
02. From the Night
03. Ageless Beauty
04. We Don’t Want Your Body
05. Turn it Up
06. Backlines
07. You Keep Coming Up
08. The Ghost of Genova Heights
09. This is the Last Time
10. Hold On When You Get Love and Let Go When You Give It
11. Look Away
12. Dead Hearts
13. Going, Going, Gone
14. Trap Door
15. One More Night
16. Elevator Love Letter
17. Take Me to the Riot
18. Your Ex-Lover Is Dead
19. Are You OK?
20. No One Is Lost
21. (Encore Call)
22. No Better Place
23. What Is to Be Done

If you enjoyed this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Stars, visit their website, and purchase any of their CDs or Vinyls from their online store [HERE].

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to Stars: November 10, 2014 Music Hall of Williamsburg – Flac/MP3/Streaming

  1. yes hello
    November 15, 2014 at 7:31 pm

    There’s actually a studio recording of that version of Going Going Gone that was released on their 2008 EP, Sad Robots!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.