Tim Presley: January 26, 2017 The Bowery Ballroom

February 7, 2017

[photos courtesy of Will and We All Want Someone blog]

Though we’re well acquainted with White Fence, Tim Presley has for the time being shelved that band in favor of going solo under his own name. The first record to appear as such is the The Wink, a buzzed and jittery work which was produced by Welsh musician Cate Le Bon, also Presley’s touring partner. The album is a departure from the fuzzy garage psych of White Fence, as Le Bon’s presence pushes Presley into intimate and unexplored territory. As I mentioned in my review of her set from the same night, Le Bon and her band also backed Presley for his opening set. Listening to the two side-by-side, you’ll notice a cohesive presence and song structure between them. Presley and band played the entirety of The Wink, in order, save for “Moment,” from his experimental W-X side project. Incidentally, no White Fence tunes were played until Cate Le Bon’s encore when she and Presley did a duet on “Chairs in the Dark.”

I recorded this set from our usual location in the venue slightly to the left of soundboard in the balcony area, with a board feed from Bowery FOH Kenny. As usual for the venue, the sound is excellent. Enjoy!

Download: MP3/FLAC


Tim Presley
The Bowery Ballroom
New York, NY

Recorded and produced by Eric PH for NYCTaper.com
Photo by Will Oliver

Soundboard [engineer: Kenny] + AKG C480B/CK63 > Roland R-26 > 2xWAV (24/48) > Adobe Audition CC (align, compression, mixdown, normalize, fades) + Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ) > Audacity 2.0.5 (downsample, dither, tracking, tagging) > FLAC (16/44.1, level 8)

Tracks [49:17]
01. O’Guardian A
02. The Wink
03. Can You Blame
04. Solitude Cola
05. Goldfish Wheelchair
06. Long Bow
07. Morris
08. ER
09. Underwater Rain
10. Kerouac
11. Clue
12. Moment
13. Aura Aura

• Facebook
• • Buy The Wink and White Fence records via Drag City

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to Tim Presley: January 26, 2017 The Bowery Ballroom

  1. JM
    May 2, 2017 at 6:14 am

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.