Sunwatchers: February 22, 2019 The Glove

March 1, 2019

Sunwatchers make no secret of their politics — heck, they’re written right on the cover of their previous album, II. They’re far from the only “rock” band (if you can even call them that) to use a saxophone, of course, but in Jeff Tobias’ hands, the instrument itself becomes political, recalling elements of spiritual and free jazz. Peter Kerlin, Jason Robira and Jim McHugh make a hell of an avant-rock trio, but it’s the defiant tone of that sax, the holy cry, that seals the band’s sound.

This show, held at the DIY outpost The Glove (so DIY that they don’t publish its address) on the Bushwick/Bed-Stuy border, celebrated the band’s second Trouble In Mind release, Illegal Moves. The ecstatic light show from Macrodose lined up the set and setting nicely for what was to come, including an Alice Coltrane cover (“Ptah, the El Daod”) and several songs we’d heard previewed back in December at Baby’s All Right. There was at least one song (“Sunwatchers vs. Tooth Decay”) that even post-dates the latest record (I think), so that gives us even more to anticipate in the future. Sunwatchers have built their fan base slowly and steadily (and deservedly). Looking at this crowd, it seemed clear that the secret is out.

I recorded this set with Schoeps MK4V mics at a nice up front (and relatively out of the way) position in the room. The sound quality is excellent. Enjoy!

Download the show from its page on the Live Music Archive

The Glove
Brooklyn, NY  USA

Recorded and produced by acidjack

Schoeps MK4V (FOB, ROC, PAS)>KCY>Z-PFA>Sound Devices MixPre 6>24/48 WAV>Adobe Audition CC>Izotope Ozone 5>Audacity 2.2.2>FLAC ( level 8 )

Tracks [Total Time: 1:06:26]
01 New Dad Blues
02 Beautiful Chrystals
03 Sunwatchers vs. Tooth Decay
04 [banter]
05 Everybody Play!
06 Green Eyed Pigmen(Get the Blade)
07 [banter2]
08 Ptah, the El Daod [Alice Coltrane]
09 [banter3]
10 Love Paste/Brown Ice
11 [banter4]
12 Psychic Driving
13 Strollin Coma Blues
14 [encore break]
15 The Worm Store

If you dig this recording, here’s how to support Sunwatchers: Buy their records on bandcamp| Buy their records from Trouble In Mind

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.