Posts Tagged ‘ halifax ’

Nap Eyes: March 9, 2016 Union Pool

March 22, 2016


Nap Eyes, of Halifax, Nova Scotia, occupy a bit of a time warp. Listen to Thought Rock Fish Scale, their fantastic new record on Paradise of Bachelors, without knowing what you’re hearing and you might believe you were hearing mid-70s Californians raised on Lou Reed, combining laid-back rhythms with a conversational, wry delivery. Frontman Nigel Chapman has the effect of sounding like someone you’ve heard a thousand times, but haven’t quite heard before. Beneath the winsome surface, Nap Eyes have a lot going on, including Chapman’s lyrics, which swing from the confessional to the bizarre. Not that it matters much in the live setting, where we caught the band’s sold-out show at Union Pool last week. The band showed off tunes from both Thought Rock and their recently-reissued debut, Whine of the Mystic, as well as one brand-new song that shows the same level of promise as the two recent offerings. Combined with the guys’ good-natured banter (even a parent was in attendance), the show gave you the sense that the positive press surrounding this band is well-earned, a sign of their low-key appeal and their ability to casually surprise.

I recorded this set with Schoeps MK5 cardiod microphones from our usual spot in the balcony, combined with a soundboard feed from Union Pool engineer Robert. There are two flaws: the level of the vocals fluctuates a bit halfway through, and the house music isn’t totally faded out for about half of the first song. With those two caveats, the sound quality overall is excellent. Enjoy!

Download the complete show: [MP3/FLAC]

Stream the complete show:

Nap Eyes
Union Pool
Brooklyn, NY USA

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by acidjack

Schoeps MK5 (A-B, DFC, at SBD) + Soundboard (engineer: Robert)>>Zoom F8>2x24bit/48kHz WAV>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (align, mix down, adjust balance of SBD, adjust levels)>Izotope Ozone 5 (effects, EQ)>Audacity 2.0.5 (track, amplify, balance, downsample, dither)>FLAC ( level 8 )

01 Mixer
02 Roll It
03 Dark Creedence
04 [new song 1]
05 Stargazer
06 Tribal Thoughts
07 Click Clack
08 No Fear of Hellfire

Support Nap Eyes: visit their bandcamp page, and buy their records from Paradise of Bachelors.

Sloan: June 29, 2011 Bowery Ballroom – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

July 5, 2011

[Photo by acidjack]

I first heard Sloan (probably like a lot of people) on one of those old DGC records CD compilations that the label would put out with one Nirvana song and one Sonic Youth song as a way to get fans to check out their lesser-known acts. Probably the most memorable band on the comp not named Nirvana or Sonic Youth was Sloan, whose debut single “Underwhelmed” from their album Smeared was alternarock perfection. All of the elements of today’s band are there – the sturdy riffs, the sweet vocal harmonies that ooze unadulterated fun, all of it catchy as hell. It makes me feel old as hell to think that this Halifax, Nova Scotia band is now celebrating their twentieth year together with this tour and the release of their latest record, The Double Cross (XX, get it?).

They’ve got a lot to show for those twenty years, too – a discography full of solid records (including the new one), numerous awards and nominations, and perhaps most tellingly, the camaraderie of sharing their entire musical career with this exact same lineup. It’s difficult to make any endeavor last as long as this one has; for a rock band, it’s almost unheard of.

Taking stock of the scene at Bowery Ballroom on Wednesday night, the fact that this band has held together became a bit less of a mystery. The band have what I like to think (positively) of as a very Canadian quality – they come off onstage as agreeable, pleasant people to be around, almost completely devoid of ‘attitude’ or posturing. So agreeable, in fact, that they play their instruments democratically, giving different members a turn at different instruments, sharing songwriting as well as vocal duties. They’re the kind of band that give you the proud sensation of watching your best friend’s band make it big – you feel good for them, and you feel their goodwill for you. It goes almost without saying that the band went above and beyond with their show, delivering a set that blended new songs from The Double Cross with classics from both decades, including what was a highlight for me (having never seen it live), “Gimme That,” the straight-ahead pop anthem from 2003’s Action Pact. This Wednesday night crowd was as laid back and cool as the band itself, paying attention, partying, and singing along, letting the artists in the room take center stage.

The set went out with a great four-song package of classics, with “People of the Sky” from 1994’s Twice Removed, “The Lines You Amend” and “G Turns to D” from 1996’s One Chord to Another, and an absolutely killer closer of “Money City Maniacs” from 1998’s Navy Blues. I have to admit, I would’ve loved the nostalgia trip of hearing “Underwhelmed” as interpreted twenty years later, if for no other reason to remind how much I owed that song, and that old DGC compilation, for such a great night.

I recorded this set from my usual location in the venue with the DPA microphones and an analog preamp to give it a warm, natural sound. Combined with the Bowery’s upgraded soundboard, the results are absolutely outstanding and one of my best pure audience recordings in that venue. Enjoy!

Stream the complete set:

Direct download of MP3 files [HERE]

Direct download of lossless FLAC files [HERE]

Follow acidjack on Twitter

Bowery Ballroom
New York, NY USA

Recorded and produced by acidjack for

Equipment: DPA 4021>Oade M248>Sony PCM-M10 (24/44.1)
Position: Balcony, LOC, mics at height of engineers
Mastering: 24bit/44.1kHz WAV>Audacity (set fades, tracking, amplify and balance, downsample)>FLAC Level 8

Tracks [Total Time 1:31:52]
01 Follow the Leader>The Answer Was You
02 Unkind
03 The Marquee and the Moon
04 Snowsuit Sound
05 Worried Now
06 Shadow of Love
07 Everything You’ve Done Wrong>
08 Who Taught You To Live Like That?
09 Gimme That
10 [banter]
11 She’s Slowing Down Again
12 Something’s Wrong>
13 Traces
14 Sinking Ships
15 It’s Plain to See
16 Your Daddy Will Do
17 Don’t You Believe A Word
18 I’ve Gotta Know
19 The Other Man
20 Beverley Terrace
21 Losing California
22 [encore break]
23 People of the Sky
24 The Lines You Amend
25 G Turns to D
26 Money City Maniacs

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Sloan, visit their website, and purchase Sloan’s official releases, which are all available via digital download at the website in mp3, apple lossless and FLAC [HERE].

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.