Posts Tagged ‘ Jolie Holland ’

Los Lobos: July 11, 2012 Brooklyn Bowl – FLAC / MP3 / Streaming Songs

August 30, 2012

[Photos by acidjack and Johnny]

Any performer worth their salt would love to be in a band like Los Lobos.  While their rendition of “La Bamba” may have put them on the map (and the version by which all others are measured, in my humble opinion; sorry, Ritchie Valens), their stellar output through a nearly 40 year career has kept them there.  These guys have a level of musicianship that most players can only dream of and would kill for.  Los Lobos are capable of playing nearly anything and many respected artists have cited them as their favorite group to jam with.  That’s why it was no surprise that during Tom Waits‘ recent, and exceedingly rare, late-night television appearances guitarist/vocalist David Hidalgo was part of his band.  An American institution very proud of their Mexican/SoCal roots, they began this show by playing acoustic Tejano that, over several songs, subtly transformed and transitioned into electric rock.  It was pretty spectacular to behold and they made it appear so effortless.  When they pulled Jolie Holland on stage for a gorgeous duet and opener Livingston Leo for a few cuts, it sounded and felt like they had all been playing together for years.  Over the course of the night, they played some brilliant covers and tracks off many of their discs including a healthy dose from ‘Kiko‘, not only one of their best albums but arguably some of the finest music ever recorded.  I am repeatedly amazed every time I get the opportunity to catch these guys and if you have a bucket list of bands you must see, Los Lobos should be at or near the top.

acidjack and I recorded this concert with sets of Schoeps MK22’s and Milab VM-44 Links.  The microphones complimented each other beautifully and we were able to make an excellent capture.  We hope you like what you hear as much as we did.  Enjoy!

Special thanks to Dan Gale for the setlist help, and to Peter Costello and the staff at Brooklyn Bowl for their hospitality.

Stream “Chuco’s Cumbia”:

Stream “Short Side of Nothing”:

Direct download of the complete show in MP3 [HERE]

Direct download of the complete show in FLAC [HERE]

If either of the links are not working, email nyctaper with a request for the download location of the files.

Follow Johnny Fried Chicken Boy on Twitter

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense.  The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission.  Please respect our request.

Los Lobos
Wednesday, July 11, 2012
Brooklyn Bowl
Brooklyn, NY, USA
(opener: Livingston Leo)

Source: AUD > Milab VM-44 Links (cardioid) + Schoeps MK22’s [> CMC6 > Sound Devices USBPre2] >> Edirol R-44 (WAV @ 24-bit/48kHz)
Lineage: R-44 > PC > Adobe Audition (mixdown, downsample, dither, tracking) > WAV (16-bit/44.1kHz) > TLH (check/fix SBE’s, FLAC conversion) > FLAC ( level 8 )
Recorded by: acidjack and Johnny Fried Chicken Boy
Produced by: Johnny Fried Chicken Boy

[Total time: 1:53:22]
01. [intro]
02. Canto a Veracruz
03. El Cascabel  [Lorenzo Barcelata]
04. La Pistola y El Corazón  [*]
05. [banter]
06. Los Ojos de Pancha  [Juan Romero]
07. Saint Behind the Glass
08. Teresa
09. [banter / tuning]
10. Chuco’s Cumbia
11. Will the Wolf Survive?
12. Angels with Dirty Faces
13. Wicked Rain
14. Short Side of Nothing
15. That Train Don’t Stop Here
16. One Way Out  [Elmore James / Sonny Boy Williamson]
17. Kiko and the Lavender Moon
18. [banter / tuning]
19. Let’s Say Goodnight
20. Ay Te Dejo en San Antonio  [Santiago Jiménez]
21. How Much Can I Do?
22. Not Fade Away  [Buddy Holly] [#]
23. Bertha  [The Grateful Dead] [#]
24. [encore break]
25. Don’t Worry Baby  [#]
26. Mas y Mas  [#]

* with Jolie Holland
# with Livingston Leo

If you download this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Los Lobos, visit their website, visit their Facebook and MySpace pages, and purchase their official releases and merchandise [HERE], at Amazon and at iTunes.

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.