Posts Tagged ‘ New Bums ’

New Bums: March 23, 2014 Baby’s All Right – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

April 29, 2014

[Promotional photo from Drag City website]

New Bums represents a new singer-songwriter oriented project from Ben “Six Organs of Admittance” Chasny and Donovan Quinn of Skygreen Leopards. The duo, touring their Drag City release Voices In A Rented Room, shared songs from that intimate, Americana-tinged song cycle with us at Baby’s All Right a few weeks ago to a fervent crowd of admirers. Anyone familiar with these players knows to expect nothing less than excellence, and that’s very much what they delivered. These low-key compositions don’t aspire to the same kind of nirvana as Chasny and Quinn’s more experimental main projects, but they’re nonetheless satisfying, especially as the pair’s voices and playing styles complement each other. The Baby’s space — intimate but not shabby — proved the perfect place to hear these songs live. Now head back to your bedroom or another quiet place and put on the headphones. You’ll see what I mean.

This set was recorded by Devin Foley 0n the house digital multitrack recorder, which I mixed down and edited. The sound quality is outstanding. Enjoy!

Stream “Welcome To the Navy”

Download the complete show: [MP3]  | [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

New Bums
Baby’s All Right
Brooklyn, NY USA

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by acidjack

Digital multitrack 24bit/48kHz WAV files (engineer: Devin Foley)>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (mix down, adjustments, fades, compression)>Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ, effects)>Audacity 2.0.3 (tracking, amplify, balance, downsample, dither)>FLAC ( level 8 )

01 The Killers and Me (fades in)
02 Pigeon Town
03 Welcome to the Navy
04 Sometimes You Crash
05 It’s the Way
06 Town on the Water
07 Your Bullshit
08 Shadow on the Stone [Donovan Quinn]
09 Cool Daughter
10 Words for Two
11 Burned

If you enjoyed this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT New Bums, visit their website, and purchase Voices In A Rented Room from Drag City.

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.