Posts Tagged ‘ Rocket Recordings ’

Oneida: January 9, 2016 Palisades

January 20, 2016

[photos by Rocketman]

Way back in 2013, in a prehistoric Williamsburg where you could still catch a show on Kent Ave., we called Oneida shows “a standing appointment.” To drive that point home, and proof that we’ve lived up to our end of the bargain, we’ve since then posted a whopping seven Oneida shows in the past two years. 2015 brought not only an increase in activity from the band but also a return to more song-based sets, compared to the lengthy jamming typical of Oneida sets in 2012 and 2013. Some old favorites have even entered the rotation, including “People of the North” from 2001’s Anthem of the Moon, “Caesar’s Column” from 2003’s Secret Wars, and most surprising, “Happy New Year” from, well, Happy New Year. Of all the many, many Oneida shows I’ve seen, this was the first time I’ve seen them do “Happy New Year,” making this recording something special indeed. The set rounds out those classics with some newer tunes: two from Oneida’s next album, “Reputation” and “Cock Fight,” plus two from their recent Positions EP, covers of This Heat’s “S.P.Q.R.” and Chrome’s “All Data Lost.”

If you’re just dying to see Oneida break out some classics new and old, you’re in luck. They’ll tour six cities in March, and we’ll see you at Shea Stadium March 11.

I recorded this set with the AKG’s set up at the stage lip, combined with board feed from Palisades FOH Leeor. The results are excellent. Enjoy!

Download the complete show: [MP3/FLAC]

Stream the complete show:


Brooklyn, NY

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by Eric PH

Soundboard (engineer: Leeor) + AKG C480B/CK61 (stage lip) > Roland R-26 > 2xWAV (24/48) > Adobe Audition CC (align, mixdown, balance, compression, normalize, fades) > Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ) > Audacity 2.0.5 (downsample, dither, tracking, tagging) > FLAC (16/44.1, level 8)

Tracks [01:09:24]
01. [Intro]
02. I Will Haunt You
03. Economy Travel
04. Caesar’s Column
05. People of the North
06. Happy New Year
07. Reputation
08. S.P.Q.R. [This Heat]
09. Cock Fight
10. [Untitled]
11. All Data Lost [Chrome]

If you enjoyed this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Oneida. Visit their website, like them on Facebook, and buy the Positions EP from Rocket Recordings.

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.