Vetiver: September 21, 2012 Glasslands – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

October 15, 2012

[Photos by acidjack]

Vetiver aren’t the kind of band you usually find at the top of the bill on a Friday night at Glasslands. The Williamsburg club is best known for cutting-edge young rock and wild DJ nights – all good things, but not exactly this band’s style. Vetiver, on the other hand, seems at times to come from a different era, with a measured, melodic 60s-inspired sound that has more to do with Simon and Garfunkel and the Grateful Dead than what’s is trending in Brooklyn right now. They are a grown-up style of band in sound, style and sentiment, and they are outstanding at what they do. It’s a testament to the good taste of both the PopGun Booking team (who run Glasslands) and that of the ATP Festival, where the band was playing the following night, that quality counts for more than trend-following. Like fellow travelers and Sub Pop labelmates Fruit Bats, Vetiver’s music transcends trends and era-specific fixations; while there’s a strong vein of the late 60s going on with the San Francisco band, their melodic, lightly psychedelic sound doesn’t simply stay there. The leadoff track to their 2011 album and current release, The Errant Charm, was one of my favorites of last year, a slow-builder whose anthemic acoustic guitar riff combines with frontman Andy Cabic’s sweet, soothing vocal to create a six-and-a-half minute slice of blissed-out perfection. This show found the band playing to a fully-packed house, and despite the early set time (Friday nights at Glasslands means late-night DJs) they gave us a fantastic 13-song set into the 65 minutes they had. The set focused on Errant Charm material, but they did reach all the way back to their 2005 debut to give us “Luna Sea” and to its 2006 double LP followup, To Find Me Gone for “Idle Ties”.  The band made the most of their encore, too,firing off a faithful rendition of Townes Van Zandt’s “Standin'”.

I recorded this set with Berliner CM-33 cardiod microphones and a soundboard feed provided by Josh Thiel, the head engineer at Glasslands.  The sound quality is excellent.  Enjoy!

Stream “Standin'”[Townes Van Zandt]

Direct download of MP3 files [HERE] | Direct download of FLAC files [HERE]

If the FLAC link is no longer working, email nyctaper for the FLAC files

Follow acidjack on twitter

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Brooklyn, NY USA

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by acidjack

Soundboard + Berliner CM-33 (DFC, ORTF)>Aerco MP-2>>Edirol R-44 [OCM]>2x24bit/48kHz WAV>Audacity 3.0 (mixdown)>Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ, effects)>Audacity 3.0 (set fades, tracking, amplify, balance, downsample)>FLAC ( level 8 )

Tracks [Total time approx 64 min.]
01 It’s Beyond Me
02 Strictly Rule
03 [banter]
04 Hard to Break
05 Streets of Your Town
06 Wonder Why
07 Can’t You Tell
08 [banter]
09 Pay No Mind
10 Idle Ties
11 You May Be Blue
12 Luna Sea
13 Another Reason To Go
14 Ride Ride Ride
15 [encore break]
16 Standin’ [Townes Van Zandt]

If you enjoyed this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Vetiver, visit their website, and purchase The Errant Charm and their other excellent releases directly from Sub Pop.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to Vetiver: September 21, 2012 Glasslands – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

  1. james
    October 16, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    Great band and a sweet recording !! Thanks for all the hard work and for sharing !!

  2. acidjack
    October 16, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    You’re welcome!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.