Lightning Love: October 18, 2012 NYCTaper CMJ Day Show, Cake Shop – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

November 7, 2012

[Still courtesy of Bleary Eyed Brooklyn. Watch video of the show (HERE)]

Lightning Love are one of those bands we fell in love with quickly. After catching their set at Spike Hill recently, we loved their upbeat, pop-driven sound and lead singer Leah Diehl’s sweet, plaintive vocals. When we called them “irresistible” in our preview of the show, we weren’t kidding; the Ypsilanti/Detroit, MI-based trio has a way of worming its way into your brain in a hurry. It was great news to us that the band was around our way again so soon for CMJ, and naturally we were excited to have them as the opening act for our unofficial CMJ showcase at Cake Shop. This set consists of the same songs as the Spike Hill show, in slightly different order, but is of somewhat better quality, owing to the fact that our mics were placed almost on stage and thus picked up the maximum direct sound.

I recorded this set with a soundboard feed provided by the house engineer Justin, together with Schoeps MK5 microphones. The sound is excellent. Enjoy!

Stream “Deadbeat”

Direct download of MP3 files [HERE] | Direct download of FLAC files [HERE]

If the FLAC link is no longer working, email nyctaper for the FLAC files

Follow acidjack on twitter

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Lightning Love
NYCTaper CMJ Day Show
Cake Shop
New York, NY USA

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by acidjack

Soundboard (engineer: Justin) + Schoeps MK5>KCY>Z-PFA>>Edirol R-44 [OCM]>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (mix down, fades, align, adjust levels)>Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ, thicken, exciter)>Audacity 3.0 (tracking, amplify, balance, downsample)>FLAC ( level 8 )

01 Together
02 Deadbeat
03 Just Friends>
04 I Know>
05 Awkward
06 CP80
07 I’ll Never Love No One Else
08 Good Time
09 So Easy
10 When You Sleep

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Lightning Love, visit their website, and purchase their new album Blonde Album directly from their bandcamp page [HERE].

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.