Yo La Tengo: December 15, 2012 Maxwell’s (Hanukkah Night 8) – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

December 20, 2012

[Photos courtesy of Bleary Eyed Brooklyn]

Donate to Jersey Shore Relief [HERE]

We had several nights with incredible collaborations. We had “quieter” nights, and ones dedicated to guitar freakouts. But the final night of Yo La Tengo‘s 2012 run was the night for obscure cover songs and left-field tunes. Of course, there was also a fitting almost entire-set collaboration, with Norman Blake of Teenage Fanclub, whom YLT had opened for back in the 90s. YLT also brought up several other special guests, including Don Fleming, WFMU DJ Gaylord Fields, and of course, Ira’s mother Marilyn, who sang the traditional YLT Hanukkah closer, “My Little Corner of the World.” But it was the raft of both obscure and more-common YLT covers that defined this night; of the 19 songs played, fully 11 of them were covers, along with the new song, “Ohm” that debuted here to lead off the set.

Ira had promised early on that “we won’t play a two-hour set” but the band all but did so anyway, clocking in at just under an hour and 50 minutes’ worth without seeming worn out from eight nights of consecutive long shows at all. After a hilarious lecture from the night’s “comedy act” Gaylord Fields (on the topic of Beatles imitators), Fields found his way back to the stage for an encore that included a hilarious Rice Krispies-themed cover of The Rolling Stones’ “Brown Sugar” and the Burt Bacharach and Hal David song “Little Red Book”.  In between were a host of amazing moments, many with Blake joining on vocals, but the band’s own numbers, like “Moby Octopad” and this night’s superjam, “I Heard You Looking,” shone, too.

As Ira said, these shows – which are performed by everyone involved for free – take a lot out of the band. They represent one band’s ultimate expression of holiday generosity, to their fans, to their peers, to their community, to their city, and to their own legacy. Far from being de rigeur, we know that every Hanukkah season that YLT performs these shows is a gift. We’d like to thank the members of Yo La Tengo, the other musicians and comedians involved, the entire staff at Maxwell’s (but especially Carson and Mitch) and the fans whose enthusiasm for these recordings makes the expense and effort of making them available worthwhile.

Tonight’s show was a benefit for Jersey Shore Relief.  As the band pointed out repeatedly during the eight nights, these shows are a bargain for the fans who attend them at the low ticket price charged. They are even more a bargain for those downloading for free from this site. While we will not require that you donate in order to download the show, we expect that you will donate to the cause that was the reason for the band playing it.

Stream “God Knows It’s True” [Teenage Fanclub]

Download the complete show: [MP3] | [FLAC]
Due to high download volume, we are hosting these files off-site. The off-site host has a maximum download limit of 500, which will periodically be reached. Please let us know if the download limit is reached and we will re-upload the files in a new location.  

Follow acidjack on twitter

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.


Yo La Tengo
Hanukkah Night 8
Hoboken, NJ USA

Exclusive download hosted at nyctaper.com
Recorded and produced by acidjack

Setlist courtesy of Jesse Jarnow, author of Big Day Coming: Yo La Tengo and the Rise of Indie Rock

Schoeps MK5>CMC6>Sound Devices USBPre2 + Soundboard (engineer: Mark) >> Edirol R-44 [OCM]>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (mix down, adjust levels)>Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ, exciter)>Audacity 3.0 (set fades, tracking, amplify, balance, downsample)>FLAC ( level 8 )

Tracks [Total Time 1:48:07]
01 [intro]
02 Ohm
03 [banter1]
04 Did I Tell You
05 Cone of Silence
06 Goin’ Back [Carole King & Gerry Goffin]
07 [banter2]
08 Avalon or Someone Similar
09 Season of the Shark
10 [banter3]
11 Circling the Sun [Jonny]
12 Moby Octopad
13 [banter4]
14 I Feel Like Going Home
15 [banter5]
16 Walking On Ice [The Riot Squad]
17 [banter6]
18 I Wanna Be Your Lover [Bob Dylan] $
19 Evelyn Marble [Velvet Monkeys] $
20 God Knows It’s True [Teenage Fanclub] $
21 I Heard You Looking
22 Eight Days A Week (The Beatles)
23 [encore break]
24 Antmusic [Adam & the Ants] *
25 [banter7]
26 Rice Krispies Jingle/Brown Sugar [Rolling Stones] ^
27 Little Red Book [Burt Bacharach & Hal David] ^
28 [banter8]
29 My Little Corner of the World [Bob Hilliard & Lee Pockriss] &

Entire set other than “Ohm” with Norman Blake on Guitar/Organ/Vocals
* with Ira and James drum procession and audience drummers
^ with Gaylord Fields
& with Marilyn Kaplan on vocals
$ with Don Fleming on guitar/vocals

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Yo La Tengo, visit their website, and pre-order the new album Fade from Matador Records [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to Yo La Tengo: December 15, 2012 Maxwell’s (Hanukkah Night 8) – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

  1. oldjollymon
    December 21, 2012 at 7:26 am

    Many thanks again to the nyctaper crew for getting out there each night & bringing back the goods for the rest of us to enjoy. Read acidjack’s last paragraph again: it sums up this whole venture articulately. And don’t forget that some of the mix CDs are available starting at noon today to benefit Norton Records: http://www.matadorrecords.com/matablog/2012/12/18/exclusive-mixes-from-yo-la-tengos-2012-hanukkah-residency-on-sale-friday-am-via-download-to-benefit-norton-records/

  2. H
    December 22, 2012 at 10:11 am

    Thanks for the shows. It seems that you didn’t record one night. Is that correct?

  3. acidjack
    December 22, 2012 at 10:13 am

    A friend recorded night 6 and that will be posted this weekend or Monday! It should be similar in quality to what we’ve had – he’s very experienced and taped with us most of the other nights.

  4. Jeff
    December 30, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    download limit reached.

    thanks for all of these!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.