Stars: March 08, 2013 Music Hall of Williamsburg – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

March 29, 2013

stars-1[photos courtesy of Jill and For the Love of Brooklyn]

The Canadian indie pop group Stars recorded their first album in NYC in 1999 and although they’ve since moved away, they always manage to make each return feel like a homecoming party. Band frontman and founder Torquil Campbell recently gave an interview in which he elaborates on his love-hate relationship with this city:

To this day, my wife still says that, even though I was born in England and I grew up in Canada, I act like a New Yorker. That was where my personality came into full fruition, where I found 11 million assholes just like me. [Laughs] I feel very at home there. On the other hand, I hate New York. Like everybody does. New York is a reflection of you. It’s whatever you imagine yourself to be.

The whole interview is highly entertaining, just like their recent sold-out two-night stop at the Music Hall of Williamsburg. The crowd had a blast as Stars dusted off a few fan favorites and mixed them up with a selection of new tracks from “The North”, their newest album released last September. Streaming below are two of my favorite songs from the night, but other surprises in the setlist included 2001’s “Krush” and a new unreleased song called “Wishful.”

I recorded this night’s performance using a pair of Schoeps MK41 microphones and an excellent soundboard feed graciously provided to us by the band and expertly mixed by their long-time engineer, Marty. The mix is an even balance of the two sources and the results are nothing short of outstanding!

We also recorded Stars the following night at Music Hall of Williamsburg and will be posting that performance very soon.

Stream “Midnight Coward”

Stream “Hold On When You Get Love and Let Go When You Give It”

Direct download of the complete show: [MP3] | [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

stars 2-1

Music Hall of Williamsburg
Brooklyn, NY

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and Produced by hi and lo

Recordist : hi and lo
Source 1 : Schoeps MK41 (DINa) > PSP-2 > AD2k + Soundboard >> Tascam DR-680 @ 24 bit / 48 kHz

01. Intro
02. The Theory of Relativity
03. Fixed
04. A Song is a Weapon
05. The North
06. We Don’t Want Your Body
07. Backlines
08. Personal
09. Do You Want To Die Together?
10. Wishful
11. Soft Revolution
12. (Banter)
13. Krush
14. The Loose Ends Will Make Knots
15. Life Effect
16. Midnight Coward
17. What I’m Trying to Say
18. One More Night (Your Ex-Lover Remains Dead)
19. Hold On When You Get Love and Let Go When You Give It
20. Take Me to the Riot
21. Walls
22. (Encore Call)
23. My Favourite Book
24. Your Ex-Lover Is Dead
25. The 400

If you enjoyed this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Stars, visit their website, and purchase any of their CDs or Vinyls from their online store [HERE].

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to Stars: March 08, 2013 Music Hall of Williamsburg – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

  1. March 29, 2013 at 9:39 am

    SUCH a great show! Thanks so much for sharing and can’t wait to listen to night two as well!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.