Speedy Ortiz: November 2, 2014 Mercury Lounge – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

November 19, 2014

[photo courtesy of Marc Villoria for BrooklynVegan]

Review by Eric PH:

Every review of Speedy Ortiz you read is going to acknowledge their debt to beloved nineties indie rock bands. I’ll resist enumerating them all here if only to focus attention on the band’s irresistible songs and serious chops. Begun as the bedroom project of singer-songwriter-guitarist Sadie Dupuis, she recruited Mike Falcone on drums, Darl Ferm on bass, and Devin McKnight on guitar for 2012’s “Taylor Swift” single. Two EP’s and one Pitchfork Best New Music LP later, Speedy Ortiz have a well-stocked arsenal of rockers to draw from. The band manages to keep it loose while cohering as a whole that sounds like they’ve been playing together for much longer than the math would indicate. Dupuis’ vocals somehow hover above and intersect with the music, alternating between complementing and contrasting it. These songs are infectious. Her confessional lyrics evoke a nostalgia for shared experience, even if it’s an experience you’d rather forget. At least, that’s how I feel when I hear “Indoor Soccer.”

We were lucky enough to catch Speedy Ortiz at Mercury Lounge on their dual-headlining tour with Ex Hex. To illustrate how successful this band has been in such a short period of time, Ex Hex frontwoman Mary Timony happens to be the former frontwoman of one of those beloved nineties indie rock bands to which Speedy Ortiz are often compared. Speedy Ortiz can hold their own among giants. Their Mercury Lounge set features an array of selections from across their catalog; from the Major Arcana LP, Sports and Real Hair EPs, and even some deep cuts like “Doomsday” from a Less Artists More Condos 7” and “Bigger Party” from the 2014 Adult Swim Singles Series. Catching this band in a small venue is a major coup as they’re clearly going to be packing larger rooms very soon.

I recorded this set from our usual location in the venue, with a soundboard feed from Speedy Ortiz soundman, Dan. The sound is excellent. Enjoy!

Download the complete show: [MP3] | [FLAC]

Stream the complete show:

Speedy Ortiz
November 2, 2014
Mercury Lounge
New York, NY

Exclusive download hosted at nyctaper.com
Recorded and produced by Eric PH

Audio Technica 3031 + Soundboard (engineer: Dave Lefcourt) > Roland R-26 > 2x24bit/48kHz WAV > Audacity 2.0.5 (set fades, mixdown, tracking, tagging) > FLAC (level 8)

01. Taylor Swift
02. Tiger Tank
03. Plough
04. MKVI
05. Casper (1995)
06. Graduates
07. Ginger
08. Doomsday
09. Curling
10. Bigger Party
11. American Horror
12. Everything’s Bigger
13. Ka-Prow!
14. Indoor Soccer

If you enjoyed this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Speedy Ortiz, visit their bandcamp page, and buy Major Arcana from Carpark Records.

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to Speedy Ortiz: November 2, 2014 Mercury Lounge – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

  1. Jon S
    November 19, 2014 at 12:27 pm

    Thanks for the SO set guys!

  2. December 1, 2014 at 11:31 pm

    Thanks for this. Any chance the Ex Hex set was recorded also? I saw them twice and would love a decent recorded show that you guys usually offer.

  3. acidjack
    December 2, 2014 at 7:13 am

    Ex Hex was recorded but declined to let us post it. Big Ups was recorded and will be up this year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.