SAVAK: April 8, 2022 Tubby’s (Kingston, NY)

April 12, 2022

SAVAK released their last LP, Rotting Teeth in the Horse’s Mouth, on April 10, 2020. To say that was a weird time would be an understatement. I vividly recall exploring my former neighborhoods of Ditmas Park and Midwood, frequently soundtracked by that new LP in those early days.

Now it’s two years later and… here we are. SAVAK’s latest record, Human Error / Human Delight arrives on Friday and I even got to see them play live for the first time in probably three years. Too long! But like those early days, SAVAK’s set from last Friday is a much needed salve. There’s nothing quite like live music and SAVAK’s energy is infectious as ever. This was my first chance to hear some of the new songs, like the standout album-opener “No Blues No Jazz,” “Dealers,” “Cold Ocean,” and a riotous, closing “Set Apart.” SAVAK steer full-throttle towards delight!

SAVAK have a few upcoming dates around NYC, including one at The P.I.T. on May 12, plus opening slots for Jawbox (!) in July and June of 44 (!!) in October, both at Le Poisson Rouge.

I recorded this set with the mics clamped to the soundboard booth, combined with a board feed from FOH Will. I mixed those down and then Sohrab provided some additional mastering. The results are excellent. Enjoy!

Download the complete show: [MP3/FLAC]

Stream the complete show:

nyctaper · SAVAK – Live at Tubby's 2022

Kingston, NY

Recorded and produced by Eric PH for

Soundboard (engineer: Will) + MBHO KA200N/603A > Naiant PFA >> Sound Devices MixPre-6 > WAV (24/48) > Adobe Audition CC + Izotope Ozone 5 > Audacity 3.0.2 > FLAC

Tracks [40:15]

  1. Early Western Traders
  2. Vis-a-Vis
  3. How Many Duchesses
  4. Dealers
  5. I Don’t Want To Be Defended
  6. Cold Ocean
  7. No Blues No Jazz
  8. Door Deals & Debt
  9. They Are Not Like Us
  10. Set Apart

Buy Human Error / Human Delight via Bandcamp
• • Connect with the band at their Website and on Facebook

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.