Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey – September 22, 2007 Blender Theatre – Lossless Download

September 23, 2007

Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey is a prog-fusion jazz trio consisting of Brian Haas (keyboards), Reed Mathis (bass), and newly-added (2007) drummer Joshua Raymer. Their most obvious influence is Bitches Brew-era Miles Davis, and their most obvious comparison is Medeski Martin and Wood. Mathis has built a solid reputation, as he’s played recently in different bands with Steve Kimock, Bobby Previte, and Mark Benevento.

Their opening set last night at the Blender was nearly 90 minutes of profoundly excellent jazz improv. Haas provided the backbone as he performed primarily on a series electric keyboards and effects, and Raymer kept up with his new bandmates providing a solid rhythm. The lead bass and various effects utilized by Mathis were quite impressive during his several solos.

JFJO permit live recording, and as a result I was able to use my best equipment from a center spot directly above the soundboard in the first row of seats. After the show I chatted briefly with Brian Haas who was not only modest about the outstanding set that the trio had just performed, but also thanked me for recording the set.

Enjoy this outstanding recording of new jazz improvisation at its finest.

The Bjorkestra set was also recorded and will be posted in the next couple of days.

This recording is now available to download in FLAC and MP3 at Archive.org [HERE].

Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey
Blender Theatre at Gramercy
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Recorded from 1st Row of Seating Area
Directly Behind Soundboard

Neumann KM-150’s (AK-50 Hypercardiod Capsules) > Apogee Minime > digital coaxial > M-Audio Microtrack > flac

Recorded and Produced by

[total time 1:21:25]
01 Improvisation
02 Santiago
03 Song of the Vipers, The Maestro
04 Twin Star
05 Oklahoma Stomp
06 Hover
07 Happiness is a Warm Gun
08 Dove’s Army
09 Old Love, New Love

As with all artists featured at this site, if you download this recording PLEASE SUPPORT Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey by visiting their web site.

7 Responses to Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey – September 22, 2007 Blender Theatre – Lossless Download

  1. Perry Justus
    September 23, 2007 at 8:39 pm

    Thanks for taping! I can’t wait to hear it. Joshua Raymer is actually their new drummer; Smart played with them from Oct. ’01 to June ’07.

  2. September 23, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    Thanks for the correction, I have edited the post. Enjoy the recording, its a nice one.

  3. Saida
    September 24, 2007 at 8:19 pm

    Great recording. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  4. dain
    September 24, 2007 at 11:05 pm

    Were you set up actually on the table in between the sound board and the board controlling the lights, with a little Apple laptop? If so, I was sitting in the seats right behind you. How did the Bjorkestra recording turn out?

  5. September 25, 2007 at 12:06 am

    Actually that guy was an extremely nice guy who works for JFJO. I was sitting right behind him with a microphone poll.
    Bjorkestra came out quite nicely, and it will be posted probably on Wednesday.

  6. jan wachsmann
    October 5, 2007 at 7:01 am

    the accoustics of the room are just great to feel, must be a real nice place… – great recording – listening in a approx. 4x3meter room, its waesome ! – thanks

  7. Dave
    October 21, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    Thanks so much for sharing this — incredible recording. I’ve particularly been looking for a copy of JFJO’s cover of “Song of the Vipers”. Thanks for making it available.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.