Mission of Burma January 19, 2008 – Music Hall – Flac Download

January 20, 2008

[photo credit]

One year ago to the day, we last saw Mission of Burma in New York at Irving Plaza. Our recording of that show is available at archive.org (here). It became clear at that show that Mission of Burma was not just another 80’s legend reforming to capture past magic. This is a working band whose recent output is as compelling as its classic material. Last night, the newer material dominated the setlist and powered an ear-shattering blast of sonic post-punk by its virtual inventors.

While the 2007 appearance featured bassist Clint Conley in a prominent role, this 2008 show was certainly Roger Miller’s show. His crunchy guitar playing was further compelled by the placement of his huge Marshall amp at the very front of the stage as a bonus sonic burst. In reality, the amp placement, a plexiglass buffer around the drums, and ear guards are used to protect Roger from further exacerbating his tinnitus. At the end of the standard set, the band returned for four encores, and were again called out for a fifth encore, which featured the tape-loop wizard Bob Weston on bass.

This recording is fortunately free of any distortion that might have occurred as a result of the extreme volume of this concert. I used the -20db pad in the Marantz (as I do for all loud concerts) and the DPA microphones were able to capture without overloading. In a way, the volume contributes to the quality of this recording by eliminating any ambient sounds (chatting, clapping, and other crowd noise) that normally might hamper a recording. We are quite pleased with the quality. Enjoy!

This recording is now available to download in FLAC and MP3 at Archive.org [HERE].

Mission Of Burma
Music Hall of Williamsburg
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Recorded from Front of Soundboard
Dead Center 30 Feet from PA

DPA 4021’s > Marantz PMD-660 (Oade BCM) > 16bit 44.1 wav > Soundforge (set fades, level boost, slight eq) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by

[Total Time 1:24:14]
01 1001 Pleasant Dreams
02 Let Yourself Go
03 2wice
04 Donna Sumeria
05 Buckets Of Flowers, Porno Mags
06 13
07 Man in Decline
08 So Fuck It
09 Forget Yourself
10 Dirt
11 Good Cheer
12 Careening With Conviction
13 Spider’s Web
14 Nancy Reagan’s Head
15 [encore break]
16 Trem Two
17 Max Ernst
18 Academy Fight Song
19 Looking at You
20 [second encore break]
21 Good, Not Great

If you download this recording PLEASE SUPPORT Mission of Burma and visit their website, and purchase their official releases (here) from Mission of Burma directly.

In March, their entire back catalog from Ace of Hearts will be available in re-issue from Matador Records.

6 Responses to Mission of Burma January 19, 2008 – Music Hall – Flac Download

  1. January 20, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    Great recording! It sounded especially good blasting in my car stereo at full volume. Well, I couldn’t figure out the name of the unknown cover, but I can tell you that track 17 is “Max Ernst.”

    And, people, I got a link to this recording within minutes of emailing NYCTaper this afternoon, so I can tell you all right now that the new policy works just fine.

    Thanks again!

  2. Kevin
    January 21, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    Thanks for sharing!! I can also vouch for the new policy. I had a link within 5 minutes!!

  3. January 21, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    The cover song is “Looking At You” by the MC5. Good stuff. Thanks for sharing, once again.

  4. Dan
    January 22, 2008 at 7:29 am

    As usual, can I just say “wow?” You’ve done it again nyctaper – MoB show is tremendous. Play it loud everyone!

  5. January 24, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    Thanks to Joseph, Brad and several other readers (via email) for providing the titles of the two songs that were missing from the setlist.

  6. Jeremy H
    January 26, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    Great show with excellent sound. New policy is solid, I had a link within 5 minutes. Thank You nyctaper!!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.