mum April 23, 2008 Brooklyn Masonic Temple – Flac and MP3 Downloads

April 25, 2008

[photo credit]

mum was well served by the change of venue to Brooklyn on Wednesday night. The loose and festive atmosphere of the Masonic Temple gave the set a playful feel.  Orvar in particular was having quite a bit of fun with the banter and indeed at one point broke out into a goofy verse of Kiss’ “I Was Made For Lovin’ You” at the end of the set. The setlist contained a few changes from Tuesday’s show and the show was 10 minutes longer. In particular, the beautiful version of “Ghosts You Draw On My Back” was breathtaking in its poignant simplicity.

I took a different approach to recording this concert than the Tuesday night outing. Since the “sweet spot” at 30 feet back dead center is inaccessible as its right in the middle of the aisle for seating at Masonic Temple, I decided to get right up front at the PA speakers. This recording was captured from the 4th row, only a few feet from the large right side speakers. The result is a very clear recording, which was perhaps a bit bass and drum heavy — imperfections that were remedied in post-production with a little gentle EQ. The final product is quite excellent. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Brooklyn Masonic Temple
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Audience Recording
Recorded from 4th Row
15 Feet from Right PA Stack

DPA 4021s > Marantz PMD-660 (Oade BCM Mod) > 16bit 44.1kHz wav > Soundforge (level adjustments, modify close clapping, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries)> flac

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:30:26]
01 I Was Her Horse
02 Moon Pulls
03 Oh, How the Boat Drifts
04 Winter (What We Never Were After All)
05 Sit Down
06 Guilty Rocks
07 Marmalade Fires
08 Blessed Brambles
09 A Little Bit, Sometimes
10 I’m 9 Today
11 Kostrzyn
12 These Eyes are Berries
13 Dancing Behind My Eyelids
14 They Made Frogs Smoke ‘Til They Exploded
15 [encore break]
16 The Ghosts You Draw On My Back
17 We Have a Map of the Piano

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT mum, visit their website, and purchase their official releases at the mum store.

One Response to mum April 23, 2008 Brooklyn Masonic Temple – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. Michael from South Carolina
    April 27, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    I’ve been listening to this one.

    Really EXCEPTIONAL recording.

    hats off to nyctaper for this one

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.