Steve Wynn & The Miracle 3 July 25, 2008 Maxwell’s – Flac and MP3 Downloads

July 27, 2008

The Dream Syndicate

“Welcome to 1983!” was Steve Wynn‘s facetious introduction last night before he and his current band The Miracle 3 performed the entire classic album The Days of Wine and Roses from Steve’s previous band The Dream Syndicate. Ultimately, the return to 1983 was not entirely accurate. The twenty-five years have given Wynn the maturity and perspective to perform the album — the title of which refers to the fleeting nature of time — with a sense of purpose and direction. Technically the performance was top notch, with all instruments tight and focused at the proper moments and loose and relaxed when the band opened up to flesh out the songs. Of particular note was the jam in “Halloween” that reached an energetic crescendo, and the closing title track where Steve brought the band down to silence before ending the song with a fury. We anticipated that this performance would be special, but Steve Wynn & The Miracle 3 exceeded all of our expectations.

We recorded with the matrix mix we have used for each of our recordings at Maxwell’s this year. The Neumann microphones were mounted at the front of the soundboard booth and raised to eight feet, and were mixed with a feed from the board. The results are absolutely outstanding. We are extremely pleased to have captured this historical performance with a special recording. Enjoy!

Many thanks to Steve Wynn for permission to record this performance and for his invitation to the soundcheck. The quality of this recording is a tribute to this artist.

This recording is available for download as FLAC or MP3 at [HERE].

Steve Wynn & The Miracle 3
Hoboken, NJ USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard/Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Front of Board Neumann KM-150s > Edirol UA-5 (Oade Digimod) > digital coaxial > M-Audio Microtrack 24/96 > 24bit 48kHz wav file > Soundforge (set fades, slight level boost, downsample, dither) > CD Wave 1.95 > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by

[Total Time 55:28]
The Days of Wine and Roses
01 [introduction]
02 Tell Me When Its Over
03 Definitely Clean
04 That’s What You Always Say
05 Then She Remembers
06 Halloween
07 When You Smile
08 Until Lately
09 Too Little, Too Late
10 The Days of Wine and Roses
11 [encore break]
12 Season of the Witch (Donovan)

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Steve Wynn, visit his website, visit his MySpace page, and purchase his official releases from the Steve Wynn Store at his website.

10 Responses to Steve Wynn & The Miracle 3 July 25, 2008 Maxwell’s – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. Sam Adams
    July 27, 2008 at 9:19 am

    Please tell me you mixed out that jackass in the cowboy hat. Looking forward to this.

  2. July 27, 2008 at 11:25 am

    You can hear him a few times, but its not too loud. He was probably more annoying up front.

  3. Bill
    July 28, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    Thanks…sounds great!

  4. Seth
    July 30, 2008 at 6:17 am

    Thanks Dan, very much appreciate the post. I saw Dream Syndicate performing this stuff when the album first came out (Karl P. smashed his guitar on stage) and look forward to hearing how Steve’s take on it has changed in the years since.

  5. Jeff Lester
    July 30, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    Thanks for the recording Dan, it sounds great. Steve is sounding pretty hoarse there by the end. Steve and the M3 did a whole tour in the fall of 2001 where they played DOWAR in full each night to celebrate and promote the remastered re-release CD.

  6. July 30, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Hey Jeff, thanks for the kind words. And you’re right about Steve. He could hardly talk after his set. Frankly, I was surprised to see him come out and sing two songs at the end of Freedy’s set, but I guess he had enough recovery time!

  7. David Skoglund
    July 31, 2008 at 9:25 am

    Thanks Dan for the wonderful recordings from that night. I don’t think I’ve ever heard Steve blow out his voice like that during a show.

  8. Ed
    July 31, 2008 at 11:57 am

    great stuff I’m sure (only just downloading)

    anyone known if they might play all of DOWAR in Europe in the Fall as well ?

  9. July 31, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    I’m pretty sure the rest of Steve’s 2008 dates will feature Crossing Dragon Bridge material prominently (9/1 release in US). I’m looking forward to some Fall dates in NYC.

  10. Ed
    August 3, 2008 at 9:55 am

    thanks again!!!

    anyone know of any photographs taken at the gig?
    I could make some artwork using these…

    cheers, E.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.