Feelies September 20, 2008 Music Hall – Flac and MP3 Downloads

September 21, 2008

[photo by nyctaper correspondent neild]

If the July Feelies concerts at Maxwell’s and Battery Park were celebratory affairs simply because the band was back and sounded great, last night’s concert at The Music Hall of Williamsburg was special for a whole different reason — the Feelies absolutely rocked. This was a band that did not sound as if they were playing their 5th gig after a decade and half of “down time”. Last night, the Feelies were tight as always, but added a significant amount of energy and animation to the stage show. Perhaps spurred on by the boisterous and vocal Saturday night crowd, each song seemed to reach a trademark Feelies crescendo with extra energy. “Deep Fascination” and “Slipping (Into Something)” in particular evolved into truly joyous cacophony.

When we glanced at the soundboard booth prior to the show and saw the longtime Feelies soundboard tech Andy behind the board, we knew the sound in the venue would be terrific and we were not disappointed. This show was mixed to perfection and featured a full and rich soundstage. Our recording was captured from a prime location and we are extremely indebted to the talents of Andy for the quality of this recording. Enjoy!

The Feelies perform again tonight at Bowery Ballroom!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

The Feelies
Music Hall of Williamsburg
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Recorded from FOB
Dead Center 20 Feet from PA

DPA 4021’s > Marantz PMD-660 (Oade BCM) > 16bit 44.1 wav > Soundforge (set fades, level boost, slight eq) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by

[Total Time 1:12:05]
01 On The Roof
02 The High Road
03 Nobody Knows
04 Let’s Go
05 Deep Fascination
06 Higher Ground
07 The Final Word
08 Time Is Right
09 Away
10 Slipping (Into Something)
11 Doin’ It Again
12 Too Far Gone
13 Raised Eyebrows
14 Crazy Rhythms
15 [encore break]
16 She Said She Said (Beatles)
17 Paint it Black (Rolling Stones)
18 [second encore break]
19 I Wanna Sleep In Your Arms (Modern Lovers)
20 Outdoor Miner (Wire)

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The Feelies and visit their official MySpace page, and purchase their official releases at various commercial outlets. They are working on new songs. Purchase their new CD when it is released!

13 Responses to Feelies September 20, 2008 Music Hall – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. Neil
    September 21, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    Thank you

  2. tylerw
    September 22, 2008 at 1:50 pm


  3. September 24, 2008 at 10:20 am

    Finally fought through the server traffic to download the mp3s, and *man* was it worth the wait. Just a stellar recording, and an awesome show – big thanks to both you and the Feelies (and their soundman) for this one.

  4. September 24, 2008 at 10:37 am

    The new motto for the site:

    “NYCTaper: Worth the Wait”

  5. Daniel
    September 24, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    Thank you thank you. That was an incredible show – waited 30 years to see the Feelies and I’m so glad I now also have a copy of the show.

  6. comet sun
    September 25, 2008 at 8:29 am

    Thank you!
    Please keep recording the Feelies shows.

    You are so significant :)

  7. September 30, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    many thanks for this one

  8. October 3, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    For those of you on Dimeadozen, there’s a video of this show there now as well:


  9. inigo
    October 17, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    Thank you very very much!!!!!!!!!!

  10. inigo
    October 17, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    Thank you neil d for the video link too

  11. Joe
    October 21, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    Many Many Thanks. Really Thanks for the effort, and thatnk you for The Feelies!! Can’t Wait for the new record, and can’t wait to hear these!! Thank You NYCTaper!

  12. January 21, 2013 at 2:55 pm

    um show incrível – há 30 anos que ando para ver os Feelies….. e nunca cevo de ver ao vivo.. só se vierem cá a Portugal mas estou tão feliz que agora também tem uma cópia do concerto

  13. January 21, 2013 at 3:20 pm

    De nada. Desfrutar!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.