Stereolab October 2, 2008 Irving Plaza – Flac and MP3 Downloads

October 3, 2008

[photo credit]

Stereolab is on tour to promote their August 2008 release Chemical Chords and the band is currently on a three-night run of shows at Irving Plaza. Last night’s performance was the opening night and showed no uncertainty or trepidation as early nights often do. These eighteen-year veterans worked through old and new material with grace and confidence — the setlist included only four songs from Chemical Chords. On a humorous note, the band performed “Ping Pong”, although they did not dedicate it to Meghan McCain.

We recorded this set with the gracious permission of Stereolab manager Martin Pike and we were able to set up in the perfect location in this venue and utilized our best equipment. We are extremely pleased with the quality of this recording. Enjoy!

Tickets are still available for the Saturday night (Oct 4) concert by Stereolab at Irving Plaza.

Atlas Sound was also recorded and will be posted in the next few days.

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Irving Plaza
New York NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Recorded from Dead Center
Front of Board — 40 Feet from Stage

Neumann KM-150s (AK-50 Hypercardiod Capsules) > Monster XLR cables > Apogee Minime > digital coaxial > M-Audio Microtrack > 24bit 48kHz wav file > Soundforge 8.0 (set fades, slight level boost, resample 16/44) > CD Wave 1.95 > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total time 1:32:21]
01 Percolator
02 Neon Beanbag
03 Eye of the Volcano
04 Mountain
05 Chemical Chords
06 Self Portrait With Electric Brain
07 Ping Pong
08 Double Rocker
09 Ecstatic Static
10 Lo Boob Oscillator
11 Bump
12 Silver Sands
13 John Cage Bubblegum
14 French Disko
15 Cybele’s Reverie
16 [encore break]
17 Three Women
18 The Emergency Kisses
19 Jenny Ondioline

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Stereolab, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and and purchase their Official Releases, including the new release Chemical Chords directly from the Duophonic Store [HERE].

7 Responses to Stereolab October 2, 2008 Irving Plaza – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. October 4, 2008 at 1:48 am

    I should mention that Bradford Cox (Atlas Sound / Deerhunter) did come out and play Laetitia’s keyboard for the last five minutes or so of “Jenny”. Laetitia thanks Bradford at the end.

  2. Richie
    October 4, 2008 at 9:24 am

    Awesome! Looking forward to Atlas Sound too.

  3. Mindy Delose
    October 7, 2008 at 11:30 am

    I went to the Oct 3rd show, it was great!

  4. now
    October 7, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    is that picture from dc? did stereolab allow taping? i taped the show in dc but had to stealth because there were signs up that said no taping.

  5. October 7, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    Yes, that photo is from DC. This recording was posted on nyctaper before the photographers from the NYC show even got their shots online!

    Taping was permitted at this show after a discussion between Irving security and Martin, Stereolab’s manager.

  6. October 14, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    There is an excellent review of this concert on Merry Swankster:

  7. Johnny Tundra
    October 19, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    Superb recording and performance. Thank you and the band!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.