The Mountain Goats November 9, 2008 Webster Hall – Flac and MP3 Downloads

November 10, 2008

[many thanks to Thom for photo permission — more here]

If Saturday night’s Mountain Goats concert in Brooklyn was a serious exercise in musical precision, Sunday night’s tour-closing show at Webster Hall was a joyous celebration of a wonderful month of music and friendship. The show began much like Saturday, but it soon became apparent that this would be a special Mountain Goats night when John Darnielle revealed that his solo set would include only songs from 1997’s Full Force Galesburg — including “New Britain” which had only been performed once previously. Of the twenty-four songs in the nearly two-hour show, a full twelve were different from the previous night, and included such rare gems as “Going to Georgia”, “Minnesota”, and “Game Shows Touch Our Lives”. After two encore segments of six songs, at the close of the night, John spoke eloquently and genuinely when he thanked the audience for their support. We thank John, Kaki and the bands for two very special evenings of music.

This concert was recorded from the prime location in this venue, in the center of the floor, equidistant from the two large PA stacks. While the mix was perhaps a bit too bass heavy (we EQ’d slightly in post-production), this recording is another excellent capture of a superb band. Enjoy!

This Recording is now available for download in FLAC and MP3 at [HERE].

The Mountain Goats
Webster Hall
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Recorded from FOB
Dead Center 20 Feet from Stage

DPA 4021’s > Marantz PMD-660 (Oade BCM) > 16bit 44.1 wav > Soundforge (set fades, level boost, slight eq) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by

[Total Time 1:50:55]
01 [introduction]
02 Have to Explode
03 Heretic Pride
04 The House That Dripped Blood
05 Moon Over Goldsboro
06 Slow West Vultures
07 New Zion
08 [banter]
09 New Britain
10 It’s All Here In Brownsville
11 Minnesota
12 [banter]
13 Black Pear Tree
14 Bring Our Curses Home
15 Mosquito Repellent
16 Suedehead (Morrissey)
17 Supergenesis
18 San Bernadino
19 Sept 15 1983
20 Game Shows Touch Our Lives
21 This Year
22 [encore break]
23 Houseguest
24 Going To Georgia
25 No Children
26 [second encore break]
27 Palmcoder Yajna
28 The Sign (Ace of Base)
29 The Best Ever Death Metal Band In Denton

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The Mountain Goats, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase Mountain Goats official releases from their website.

7 Responses to The Mountain Goats November 9, 2008 Webster Hall – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. Sam
    November 10, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    Did you happen to tape Kaki King’s set? One of my favorites. Thanks for your great work.

  2. Endeevya
    November 11, 2008 at 7:53 am

    I second that.

    And thank you.

  3. November 11, 2008 at 9:35 am

    Thanks! This is awesome. It’s nice even to have the set list, let alone a taping. I’m excited to listen to it. Appreciate the comment and the heads up.

  4. Joe
    November 12, 2008 at 1:56 am

    This is amazing. Sounds incredible. Thank you very much.

  5. Rob
    December 27, 2008 at 12:14 am

    The download keeps cutting out for me at like 90% or so, so I get an ‘error’ when I open the .rar/.zip file. Any help with this?

  6. December 27, 2008 at 12:24 am

    Well, of course you’re going to get an error if you’re trying to open it at 90%.
    The real question is why is your download “cutting out” at 90, and I don’t know the answer. The server is fine, and the file is all there. This would be the first complaint and this download has been here for almost 2 months, so my conclusion is that the problem is at your end. All I can suggest is to try to download from a different computer, or keep trying with this one.

  7. Rob
    December 27, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    I think I should try again, because I got most of the file to download, except for the last 3 songs. So try again I shall.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.