O’Death December 5, 2008 Bowery Ballroom – Flac and MP3 Downloads

December 6, 2008

[photo by nyctaper]

On the final night of their winter tour in support of the superb new CD Broken Hymns, Limbs And Skin, Brooklyn’s O’Death returned home. As the band ripped through a seventy-minute set of material old and new, the floor of the Bowery Ballroom literally bounced with the energy of a crowd dancing and slamming to O’Death‘s unique approach to gothic country punk. We focused much of the time on the impressive electric banjo work of Gabe Darling, but in reality each member of the talented quintet could have been centerstage at any point in the evening.

O’Death will be off the road for the remainder of the year, but return to touring in February with a run through the South and then an extensive tour through Europe. The unbridled energy of this band guarantees that each show will truly be a memorable experience. The Bowery last night was no exception.

We recorded with our best mobile rig from the prime location in this venue. The results are a faithful capture of the energy of this excellent show. Enjoy!

This Recording is now available for Download in FLAC and MP3 at Archive.org [HERE].

Bowery Ballroom
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Recorded from FOB
Dead Center 30 Feet from PA

DPA 4021’s > Marantz PMD-660 (Oade BCM) > 16bit 44.1 wav > Soundforge (set fades, level boost, slight eq) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by

[Total Time 1:08:37]
01 Home
02 Only Daughter
03 Adelita
04 On An Aching Sea
05 Spider Home
06 Underwater Nightmare
07 I Think I’m Fine
08 Ratscars
09 Lean-to
10 Lowtide
11 Down To Rest
12 A Light That Does Not Dim
13 Angeline
14 Fire On Peshtigo
15 Mountain Shifts
16 Legs To Sin
17 [encore break]
18 Allie Mae Reynolds
19 Nimrod’s Son (Pixies)
20 Yonder Christian

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT O’Death, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their latest CD from Kemado Records, or itunes from the Store at the O’Death website [HERE]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.