Iron and Wine: October 15, 2003 Knitting Factory – Flac Download + Tour News!

February 20, 2009

[photo from Iron and Wine MySpace]

This week it was announced that Iron and Wine would perform a pair of intimate concerts at NYC’s Abrons Arts Center on May 17 and 18, as part of a tour of small venues with setlists chosen by the fans. Tickets for the Abrons shows go on sale today (Fri 2/20) at Noon EST NOW.

Perhaps the last time that Sam Beam performed at a venue in NYC of this modest size was his first couple of trips to New York, when he played the Knitting Factory. The second such appearance is the concert offered for download here. That night the Knit was a completely packed house, and Iron and Wine delivered a full length concert of one-hundred minutes of material. The setlist included five songs from his yet-to-be-released second album Our Endless Numbered Days, along with one very memorable Flaming Lips cover — “Waitin’ for a Superman” which Iron and Wine will officially release for the first time on May 19, 2009 on the new compilation Around the Well.

This concert was recorded by long time local taper xcxre9, who provided the never-circulated master DAT for extraction and production to be posted on nyctaper. The recording suffered from a major flaw that was adjusted in post-production. The low volume of the quiet music was respected by the crowd during the songs, but the volume of cheering was overwhelming during the breaks in between numbers. In post, the crowd was reduced to an unheard-of 10% of its original volume. Listeners can hear some artifacts of this process, but the overall listening enjoyment of this recording as a whole has been greatly increased. Enjoy!

This concert is being offered in flac format only in respect for the original taper.

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Iron and Wine
Knitting Factory
New York, New York

Digital Audience Master
Recorded from FOB

Recording: DPA 4061s > SBM-M1 > Sony D-8 DAT Master
Transfer: DAT Master > Panasonic SV-3800 > digital coaxial > Audigy 2 ZS Platinum > Soundforge (major level adjustment/close clapping reduction) > 16 bit 44.1 wav > CD Wave (tracking) > Flac Frontend  (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded by xcxre9
DAT Extraction and Post-Production by nyctaper 2009-02-20

[total time 1:38:01]
01 Each Coming Night
02 Weary Memory
03 On Your Wings
04 Someday The Waves
05 Promise What You Will
06 Faded From The Winter
07 Bird Stealing Bread
08 Free Until They Cut Me Down
09 The Sea And The Rhythm
10 Jesus The Mexican Boy
11 Sinning Hands
12 Lion’s Mane
13 Upward Over The Mountain
14 Waiting For A Superman (Flaming Lips)
15 Promising Light
16 The Rooster Moans
17 Southern Anthem
18 Dearest Forsaken
19 Muddy Hymnal
20 [encore break]
21 The Postal Service
22 Naked As We Came

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Iron and Wine, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their official releases and merch from the store at their website [HERE].

2 Responses to Iron and Wine: October 15, 2003 Knitting Factory – Flac Download + Tour News!

  1. February 20, 2009 at 10:31 am

    Tickets are on sale NOW, and its 10:30am.
    I just got tix for both days, so go get ’em!

  2. Jake
    May 15, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    This is an awesome recording of an awesome gig. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.