Monks of Doom: March 12, 2009 Club Europa – Flac and MP3 Downloads

March 18, 2009

[photo courtesy of Kyra Kverno – more of her amazing work here]

On Thursday at Europa, Monks of Doom hit the ground running and never let up. In their first live performance in nearly four years, the band top-loaded the setlist with heavier rock numbers played flawlessly. With much humorous banter in between numbers, Monks of Doom then alternated original numbers and their eclectic covers, and finished the impressive set with an intense back-to-back “Insect God” and “Hurricane Fighter Plane”. Thursday’s solid show set the stage for Friday’s epic performance.

We recorded this set with the Neumann microphones inside the soundboard booth on the far right, closest to the stage. This position placed us directly in line with the main PA speakers, approximately 30 feet from the stage. While this recording certainly does not have the amazing mix if the multitrack from Friday, this capture is still quite excellent. Enjoy!

If you choose to donate as a result of this recording, do not donate to nyctaper (paypal on the right), but please paypal to the band at the Email Monks of Doom.

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Monks of Doom
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Audience Master Recording
Recorded from Front Inside Soundboard Booth
30 Feet from Stage

Neumann KM-150s (AK-50 Hypercardiod Capsules) > Monster XLR cables > Apogee Minime > digital coaxial > M-Audio Microtrack > 24bit 48kHz wav file > Soundforge 8.0 (set fades, resample 16/44) > CD Wave 1.95 > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[total time 1:44:17]
01 [introduction]
02 In Anticipation of the Pope
03 Vaporize Your Crystals
04 Trapped
05 Riverbed
06 The Traveler
07 Powerhouse / Hieroglyphic
08 [banter]
09 Light In The Sky (Steve Hillage)
10 The 15th (Wire)
11 Ukranian Technological Faith Dance
12 Vivian Girls (Snakefinger)
13 Cherry Blossom Baptism
14 Oh Well (Peter Green’s Fleetwood Mac)
15 Going South / La Dolce Vita Suite
16 [banter]
17 No Looking Back (Blue Orchids)
18 New Saigon (Pell Mell)
19 The Insect God
20 Hurricane Fighter Plane (Red Crayolas)

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Monks of Doom, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their albums from their site and the Magnetic Motor Works [HERE].

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.