Built to Spill: July 19, 2009 Maxwell’s – Flac and MP3 Downloads (Soundboard!)

July 25, 2009

[photo still from this video]

“Feel about the same but I’m 10 years older” sings Doug Martsch in the Built to Spill classic “Three Years Ago Today”. It was ten years ago when Built to Spill last played at Maxwell’s, on a unseasonably balmy night in late October of 1998. I recorded that show (the early set) by patching into the soundboard along with another guy who I knew from seeing around at shows. Ten years later that same guy (Erik) and I are friends, and he thankfully repeated history and brought to nyctaper a recording of this week’s return of Built to Spill to Maxwell’s.

This week’s show contains other eerie similarities a decade removed, particularly in the setlist. “Three Years” performed second on the list on Sunday, was the opener of the 1998 show, and “Kicked it in the Sun”, now a BTS classic, was performed as an untitled “new song” in 1998. As he did 10 years ago, Doug also opened up the floor for requests, which led this week to some of the older material rarely played these days, including “Virginia Reel Around the Fountain” and “Nowhere Nothin’ F Up”, both also repeats 10 years later.

As Built to Spill gear up to release There Is No Enemy this fall, expect to see much more of this band on nyctaper. Preliminarily, we plan to record each of the four NYC shows in October (Webster Hall and Music Hall of Williamsburg).

This recording would not have been possible with the contributions of many people, but primary thanks to Erik for recording and to Doug Martsch, who agreed in an extremely friendly and generous email to permit this recording to be posted here. Its a soundboard feed from Maxwell’s, which is an excellent venue with talented staff. The sound is quite excellent if a tad bit high in vocals as are all board recordings. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Built To Spill
Hoboken, NJ USA

Digital Master Soundboard Recording

Soundboard > Edirol R09 > 24bit 48kHz wav file > Soundforge (level adjustments, downsample, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded by Erik B
Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:48:40]
01 Traces
02 Three Years Ago Today
03 Strange
04 Stop The Show
05 Else
06 Time Trap
07 Kicked It In The Sun
08 In The Morning
09 Hindsight
10 Nowhere Nothin’ Fuck Up
11 One Thing
12 Virginia Reel Around The Fountain
13 Broken Chairs
14 In Your Mind

f you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Built To Spill, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their official releases from the Built to Spill Store [here].

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to Built to Spill: July 19, 2009 Maxwell’s – Flac and MP3 Downloads (Soundboard!)

  1. July 28, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    Love the Built To Spill and this is a lot of music, it’s great. Thanks so much.

  2. Nemezule
    August 5, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    This has been my favorite band for a few years now. Thanks for the recording!!!

  3. September 26, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    Thank you for sharing!
    Great band.

  4. October 17, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    Listening to this right now…Really great, sounds excellent. Thanks for making this available.

    Love me some Built to Spill.

  5. callmeclint
    January 11, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    Says file not found

  6. January 11, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    Fixed. Download away.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.