Of Montreal: September 18, 2009 Terminal 5 – Flac and MP3 Downloads

September 19, 2009

of Montreal T5
[photo courtesy of Dani Jordan]

I will admit that I am addicted to the Of Montreal concert experience. Every show is a multi-media entertainment extravaganza. For recent experiences, the stage show has often trumped my true appreciation of the song craft and the musicianship. Last night at Terminal 5, while the stage show had its usual assortment of wild play-acting — crucifixions, animal costumes, and feathers everywhere — I made a conscious decision to concentrate on the musicians, and I was rewarded as the band absolutely shined. In particular, BP’s outstanding guitar work in “Rejecter” and Davey Pierce’s sharp bass playing in “Bunny” were highlights. While the show began with five consecutive numbers from Skeletal Lamping, the setlist was dominated by Hissing Fauna material including nine of the twelve songs on that album. As per usual, the encore segment featured one memorable cover song, this time “Love Hangover” from the disco-era Diana Ross.

We recorded from the standard location in this venue, dead center of the rear of the floor with a direct line towards the huge stacks. The sound quality in this venue can often be muddy, but overall we were pleased with the sound on this evening, and the recording is a fine listening experience. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Of Montreal
Terminal 5
New York, NY USA

Digital Audience Master Recording
Recorded from Floor – 50 Feet from Stage

Neumann KM-150s + DPA 4021s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Many Thanks to BP!

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:32:20]
01 [introduction]
02 Mingusings
03 Id Engager
04 For Our Elegant Caste*
05 Touched Something’s Hollow
06 An Eluardian Instance
07 Requiem for O.M.M.2
08 The Party’s Crashing Us
09 Suffer For Fashion
10 Sink the Seine
11 Cato As A Pun
12 Forecast Fascist Future
13 My British Tour Diary
14 She’s a Rejecter
15 Bunny Ain’t No Kind Of Rider
16 Faberge Falls For Shuggie
17 I Was Never Young
18 Heimdalsgate Like A Promethean Curse
19 The Past Is A Grotesque Animal
20 [encore break]
21 Love Hangover (Diana Ross)*
22 A Sentence Of Sorts In Kongsvinger
*with Janelle Monae

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Of Montreal, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their new CD Skeletal Lamping at the Polyvinyl website [HERE].

7 Responses to Of Montreal: September 18, 2009 Terminal 5 – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. ward sharlow
    September 19, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    Thanks so much. You rock.

    Can’t wait to see oM back on the West Coast. Seeing them live is one of the supreme joys of life.

  2. editrrix
    September 19, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    I can’t begin to thank you enough. I couldn’t make it to the show this time and it was making me really depressed, and now, less than 24-hours later, you bring the thrills home. I’ll catch them next time they come through, but listening to the show is the next best thing to being there.

  3. September 20, 2009 at 2:26 pm


  4. seafdn230
    September 20, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    Awesome….so excited.

  5. September 22, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    I have to give you over 9000 internets for this!

  6. Jillian
    September 23, 2009 at 11:21 am


  7. Ingrid
    December 23, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    WOW thankyouuuuu. I am really addicted to the OM live experience too so really excited to listen to this!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.