Lou Barlow: October 6, 2009 Mercury Lounge – Flac and MP3 Downloads

October 9, 2009

[photo by nyctaper]

Lou Barlow released his second proper album Goodnight Unknown on Tuesday. That night at Mercury Lounge, Lou celebrated the album’s release with the only headlining show on this current tour. The balance of the dates are opening slots for Lou’s other band, Dinosaur Jr. The result was a two-hour show that not only featured a set with his current backing band, The Missingmen, but also a complete hour of Lou solo, taking requests and playing a ton of rare material including eleven Sebadoh songs. This show was a fan’s delight, as Lou was his usual gregarious self but also took chances and played songs that he had not performed live in years, or in several cases, decades.

I recorded this show with a pair of microphones set up in the usual location next to the soundboard booth, supplemented with a stereo feed from the board. The major flaw in this recording was a persistent buzz or hum coming from stage. During the show, the crowd made reference to this noise on several occasions and Lou even acknowledged it (Track 39). If the listener can subconsciously filter the noise, this is a very enjoyable and listenable recording. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Lou Barlow
Mercury Lounge
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 2:00:11]
Tracks 01-24 Lou Barlow and The Missingmen
01 [introduction]
02 Sharing
03 Don’t Apologize
04 [banter]
05 Home
06 [banter]
07 Goodnight Unknown
08 Too Much Freedom
09 The One I Call
10 [banter]
11 Praise
12 Gravitate
13 One Machine, One Long Fight
14 [tuning/banter]
15 Caterpillar Girl (false start)
16 Caterpillar Girl
17 Faith Defies the Night
18 [banter]
19 On The Face II
20 [banter]
21 Take Advantage
22 [banter]
23 Sharing
24 [banter]
Tracks 25-43 Lou Barlow solo
25 Tree
26 Holding Back The Year
27 The Ballad of Daykitty
28 Too Pure
29 Magnet’s Coil
30 Think (Let Tomorrow Bee)
31 [banter]
32 Willing To Wait
33 [banter]
34 Vampire (one verse)
35 Soul and Fire
36 [banter]
37 Brand New Love
38 A Hit (Smog)
39 [banter about amp noise]
40 Royalty (one verse)
41 [banter]
42 Ride The Darker Wave
43 Skull

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Lou Barlow, visit his website, and purchase his official releases, including his excellent new album Goodnight Unknown from the Merge Records website [HERE].

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to Lou Barlow: October 6, 2009 Mercury Lounge – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. October 16, 2009 at 8:51 am

    was out of town for this show… awesome to see you were there. as usual, thanks so much for the recording!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.