Jesus Lizard: November 16, 2009 Irving Plaza – Flac and MP3 Downloads

November 18, 2009

[photo courtesy of Dan M. Parker]

Acidjack reports:
“I had not seen the Jesus Lizard since Lollapalooza 1995 – the last year I choose to think of as being remotely true to what that festival was about. As hard as it is to believe that was 14 years ago, it is even harder to understand how frontman David Yow & Co. have managed to bring back this band – essentially dormant since 1999 – with this much ferocity. Yow may be 14 years older and a bit worse for wear, but the man caterwauls with an intensity that most 20 year old pretty boys will never match. The Irving crowd – a good portion of whom, at this 16+ show, were not even born when this band began in 1987 – remained in a frenzy throughout the set, turning the Irving floor into a thrashing sea of bodies, flying beers and more than a few sets of broken eyeglasses. While Yow stage-dove, mic in hand, the band delivered their tightly wound hardcore like the experts they are. Covering a range of the band’s catalog and with two encores, the 23-song set gave audience members a lot to scream about.

At one point near the end of the show, with blood smeared on his face, Yow said he couldn’t believe that as a bunch of “65 year olds,” the Jesus Lizard were still “the best band in the world.” After a few minutes, he admitted that maybe the Melvins were better. It all depends on one’s taste in music of course, but it’s safe to say that after Monday’s performance, the Melvins have got a lot to live up to.”

The show was recorded from the floor close enough for a capture of exceptional clarity but far enough back to avoid the craziness. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

The Jesus Lizard
Fillmore East at Irving Plaza
New York, NY

An ACIDJACK master recording

Equipment: Audix 1280c capsules>Church Audio Active Cables>SPSB-10>R-09HR
Position: Slightly LOC, floor, about 35-40′ back, stealth
Mastering: WAV>Audacity (set fades, downsample, tracking, amplify each channel)>FLAC ( level 8 )

01 [crowd]
02 Puss
03 Gladiator
04 Seasick
05 (None Other Than) Killer McHann
06 Glamorous
07 Mouth Breather
08 Destroy Before Reading
09 Nub
10 My Own Urine
11 Dancing Naked Ladies
12 Monkey Trick
13 Boilermaker
14 Blue Shot
15 Chrome
16 7 vs. 8
17 [encore break]
18 Dudley
19 Bloody Mary
20 Thumbscrews
21 Blockbuster
22 Wheelchair Epidemic
23 [second encore break]
24 Thumper
25 If You Had Lips
26 Fly On The Wall

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Jesus Lizard, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their official releases directly from the Touch and Go Records website [here].

4 Responses to Jesus Lizard: November 16, 2009 Irving Plaza – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. andy
    November 20, 2009 at 6:47 am

    This is super awesome. THANK YOU!!!! Best live band ever and great to have a recording of this show. One question: a few of the songs can’t be changed in iTunes. Most of them it worked to change the info in iTunes but a few seem to be locked. Hmmmm.

  2. Bobby
    November 20, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    This is so great.

    Saw them last week in Toronto, sounded just like this.

    Yow went over my head at one point!

  3. Chris
    November 21, 2009 at 9:34 am

    This was such a great show! Thanks for the recording.

    The missing song title (track 24) is “Thumper”.

  4. Sprawn
    November 22, 2009 at 7:33 am

    Nothing can compare to a live performance, but this is as close as mere mortals can come! Great job.

    “Wait! This guy lost his glasses! Find that guy’s glasses!”

    Classic David Yow.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.