Sloan: December 4, 2009 Bell House – Flac and MP3 Downloads

December 8, 2009

[photo by Jordan]

Sloan is currently on tour to support their new five-song EP Hit & Run, and the Canadian alt-rock legends were in town for two local shows this past week. At Bell House on Friday night, Sloan bassist/vocalist Chris Murphy remarked that since the band only had to learn five new songs, the setlist would include a bunch of older numbers. As the packed-to-the-rafters crowd chanted their never-ending “Sloooooann” and sang along to every word, the band performed material dating back to 1996’s Juno Award Album of the Year One Chord or Another and best album nominee 1998’s Navy Blues, while selecting only a handful from their late 00’s output. The rowdy crowd demanded an encore and the band ultimately returned for four of them.

We recorded this set from our usual location in this venue and combined the audience microphones with a soundboard feed. While the crowd is abundant on the audience feed, the mix of the two sources reduces the crowd noise to a level that captures the feel of the venue without distracting from the listening experience. Enjoy!

Acidjack recorded the Maxwell’s show at that recording will be posted tomorrow.

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Bell House
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 16bit 44.1kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:25:32]
01 [introduction]
02 Take It Upon Yourself
03 At The Edge Of The Scene
04 Believe in Me
05 Autobiography
06 It Is Never
07 Don’t You Believe a Word
08 Keep On Thinkin’
09 Money City Maniacs
10 The N.S.
11 [new song]
12 The Great Wall
13 Where Are You Now?
14 Midnight Mass
15 Oh Dear Diary
16 Friendship
17 Witch’s Wand
18 Fading Into Obscurity
19 Everything You’ve Done Wrong
20 Who Taught You To Live Like That
22 [encore break]
22 The Other Man
23 C’mon C’mon (Were Gonna Get It Started)
24 Chester The Molester
25 The Good In Everyone

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Sloan, visit their website, and purchase Sloan’s official releases, which are all available via digital download at the website in mp3, apple lossless and FLAC [HERE].

4 Responses to Sloan: December 4, 2009 Bell House – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. ah
    December 8, 2009 at 2:12 am

    love your site, you do a great service, but…where’s the rest of the slumberland show? just being greedy wanting to hear it all as i saddly live in ohio and not nyc!

  2. December 8, 2009 at 8:09 am

    Ropers will be posted in the next couple of days, and the rest will come soon thereafter.
    Setlist help would speed things along.

  3. December 10, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    Thanks nyctaper!

  4. xpensivewhino
    December 11, 2009 at 5:36 am

    Thanks, great sounding Sloan show! Been following these guys since ’93, always wanted to see them live and finaly had my chance when they opened up for The Police here in Edmonton Canada. Thanks again – keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.