Atlas Sound: February 3, 2010 Bell House – Flac and MP3 Downloads

February 5, 2010

[photos taken for nyctaper by Kate Ehle – more here]

Bradford Cox struggled several times throughout the Atlas Sound show last night at Bell House with his equipment, but by the end of show made this joking/offhand remark that was abundantly true — “I don’t need the f’ing looper thing”. While the basic premise of Atlas Sound has always been Bradford and his various looping and other effects as accompaniment to his guitar and vocals, what became clear last night was that he doesn’t need the help. The strongest moments during the show were when it was just Bradford, guitar and harmonica — seemingly an authentic post-indie next-generation 1970-era Neil Young. This particular performance was noteworthy for the several new songs mixed in with Logos material, and a surprise Deerhunter song in the encore slot. But what we took away from the night was the hope that next time Bradford will leave his toys home and accept that his stage presence and immense musical talents alone can carry the show.

We recorded from our usual location at this venue and the sound quality is outstanding. There is one minor flaw as we had a cable connection issue for the first two minutes of the set but remedied much of the problem in post-production. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Atlas Sound
Bell House
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 16bit 44.1kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:25:04]
01 The Scream
02 [technical problems]
03 Te Amo
04 Walkabout
05 Sheila
06 An Orchid
07 Please Come Home
08 Flagstaff
09 Attic Lights
10 [encore break/banter]
11 Criminals
12 [false start/banter]
13 Spring Hall Convert
14 Logos
15 [closing remarks]

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Atlas Sound, visit the MySpace page, visit Bradford’s blog, and purchase the latest album Logos directly from the Kranky Records website (here).

3 Responses to Atlas Sound: February 3, 2010 Bell House – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. lafamos
    February 9, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    wish i could have seen this, totally downloading this when i get home.

  2. G
    February 11, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    thanks for this. makes my day.

  3. chris ibb
    August 19, 2011 at 3:32 am

    The first song is actually called “The Screens”
    It’s from Virtual 7″ #8

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.