Titus Andronicus: March 6, 2010 Bowery Ballroom – Flac and MP3 Downloads

March 9, 2010

[photo by nyctaper]

Patrick Stickles decision to perform a solo rendition of The Replacements’ “Treatment Bound” as a tribute to his band was appropriate in so many ways. Titus Andronicus owes much to the Replacements in terms of their sound and their attitude. At the Bowery on Saturday night, Titus sold out one of NYC’s premiere venues on the night they celebrated the release of their triumphant new album The Monitor. As the Replacements did during their Hootenanny/Let it Be heyday, Titus has learned to walk the thin line between inspired manic energy and chaos. But if the decline of the Replacements from a group of talented crazies to a bland major label AOR band is any lesson, one can only hope that Titus can maintain their edge. The Monitor is an ambitious album that works on many levels as it draws inspirations from history, life in the suburbs, and life in a punk rock band. As the Minutemen did contemporaneously to the ‘Mats, Titus has structured big ideas into multi-layered songs (“Battle of Hampton Roads” lasts sixteen minutes), but still manage to keep within the punk idiom and ethos. Its truly a strange site to see virtually the entire floor of the Bowery Ballroom slamming to a song about Civil War ironclad warships, but somehow on Saturday it seemed to perfectly fit the occasion.

I recorded this set with the Neumann microphones from the balcony rail mixed with a feed from the soundboard. The two sources give the recording both instrumental and vocal clarity while also reflecting the energy in the room. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Titus Andronicus
Bowery Ballroom
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 16bit 44.1kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:31:11]
01 [introduction]
02 A Pot In Which To Piss
03 Upon Viewing Bruegel’s “Landscape with the Fall of Icarus”
04 A More Perfect Union
05 Joset of Nazareth’s Blues
06 Richard II
07 [tuning/banter]
08 Fear and Loathing in Mahwah, New Jersey
09 [banter]
10 No Future Part Three: Escape from No Future
11 Titus Andronicus
12 Band Introductions/My Time Outside The Womb
13 [banter]
14 The Battle Of Hampton Roads
15 …And Ever
16 [banter]
17 Four Score And Seven
18 [banter]
19 Treatment Bound (The Replacements)
20 No Future Part II: The Day After No Future

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Titus Andronicus, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase The Monitor directly from Beggar’s Group/XL Recordings [here].

Tags: ,

7 Responses to Titus Andronicus: March 6, 2010 Bowery Ballroom – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. tom
    March 9, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    did you get the parts and labor set?

  2. March 9, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    Yes, but I haven’t even listened to it yet.
    Hopefully this weekend.

  3. justin
    March 10, 2010 at 12:41 am

    This is amazing, thank you.

  4. andy
    March 10, 2010 at 6:31 pm

    On track sixteen, I’m the guy yelling “part one” really loudly. I feel like a tool, now. This is a public apology. Thank you.

  5. Balot
    March 10, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    Fucking great

  6. DG
    March 10, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    Amazing! Thank you very much for your hard work.

  7. Zac
    March 11, 2010 at 1:43 am

    This is fantastic

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.