Wussy: April 16, 2010 Cake Shop – Flac and MP3 Downloads

April 17, 2010

[photo by nyctaper]

I saw the Ass Ponys thirteen or fourteen years ago play at the late lamented club Brownie’s on Avenue A. The most lasting memory of the night was the hilarious between-song banter, primarily from Chuck Cleaver. When the Ass Ponys just sort of stopped playing in 2005-6, Chuck took up full time with his latest band Wussy. And while Wussy plays a similar intelligent americana-rock as Ass Ponys, and have inherited the gift of entertaining banter, what separates the two bands is Chuck’s new co-frontperson. Lisa Walker writes lyrics as compelling as Chuck’s and on stage, she is a tighly-wound bundle of energy uncoiling to deliver three-minute bursts of sonic goodness. At Cake Shop last night, we saw up close why the followers of this puzzlingly-obscure Cincinnati quartet are so dedicated — one fan came all the way from Canada for the show. In their seventy-five minute set, the band drew from their three excellent albums, played one new song and an Eddie Hinton cover, and returned twice for four encores.

I recorded this set from upfront, six feet from the PA. The sound quality of the recording is rich in clarity and limited sonically only by the modest system in the venue. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Cake Shop
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Audience Recording
Recorded Upfront
6 Feet from Right PA

DPA 4021s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 24bit 48kHz wav file > Soundforge (level adjustments, set fades, downsample) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:14:23]
01 Funeral Dress [false start]
02 Funeral Dress
03 Happiness Bleeds
04 [banter]
05 Crooked
06 [banter]
07 Sun Giant Says Hey
08 Do Do Do Do
09 [banter]
10 Breakfast in Bed (Hinton/Fritts)
11 [banter/monitors]
12 Death By Misadventure
13 Muscle Cars
14 Airborne
15 Yellow Cotton Dress
16 Fly Fly Fly
17 Rigor Mortis
18 [encore break/banter]
19 Soak It Up
20 [banter]
21 Jonah
22 [banter]
23 Maglite
24 [second encore break]
25 Don’t Leave Just Now

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Wussy, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their official releases from the Shake It Records website [HERE].

6 Responses to Wussy: April 16, 2010 Cake Shop – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. Joli
    April 18, 2010 at 9:48 am

    Thanks — this is a real gift! We shot some video of the show as a souvenir. You must have been standing next to me (I had on ridiculous flowered jacket). i probably stood next to you at the show at Brownies, too. Thanks again.

  2. Scott L.
    April 20, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    So happy to see this show up on your site!! Thank you
    They are criminally unaprreciated.

  3. Stu
    April 22, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    Thanks so much for this. Wussy is the greatest rock’n’roll band in the world. Whoever’s #2 is light years away. I travelled all the way from Canada too, to see them in Minneapolis. I think all Wussy shows should have one token Canadian in the audience. It could be their “thing”.

  4. Dave
    April 27, 2010 at 8:27 am

    Thanks for this! Wussy is a force, and one of the few bright spots about living in Ohio!

  5. Bill
    May 13, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    It’s great to see this. I’ve got all the studio stuff, and have been eager to hear them live. Thanks!

  6. November 23, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    Thanks for the free download, and thanks to Ryan Maffei’s blog for leading me here. Long live Wussy!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.