Wilco: April 3, 2010 Wellmont Theatre – Flac and MP3 Downloads (Streaming Sample)

June 23, 2010

[Photos for nyctaper by Kate Ehle — many more here]

If Wilco continues to expand their live show at the same rate that the sets have expanded in the last few years, the 2014 Wilco tour will consist of five hour shows with 60 songs. While that seems absurd, its almost inconceivable that in an era of 50-minute headliners, Wilco regularly plays for over three hours with an almost ridiculous (thirty-eight on this night) number of songs. In April, we recorded both shows at the Wellmont Theatre in Montclair New Jersey and featured the first night a few days after the show. Unfortunately, the recording of the second show was technically problematic, and the significant post-production meant that it got pushed to the back of the nyctaper queue. Although the editing was a chore, it was a pleasure to revisit another epic Wilco show in the NYC area. For this tour, the band performed a brief “acoustic set” mid-show, which gave them an opportunity to trot out some oldies. This particular night, several Being There tracks were played, along with rare nuggets like “Laminated Cat”, “Candyfloss” and “Airline to Heaven”. The set closed with a two-for of Big Star covers, in tribute to the death in March of the legendary Alex Chilton.

The sound quality of this recording is below the usual standards of this site. We offer this show because of the large number of requests for a recording, and because this date does not seem to have been taped by anyone else. There were two major losses of the right channel during the first half of the set — one lasting 20 minutes — and those have been patched by replicating the left channel. There were also many peaks of close-clapping, the most egregious of which have been isolated and reduced. This particular venue has also not achieved its maximum sound potential and frankly the talented Wilco sound crew could only do so much. With those caveats, enjoy!

Stream “Box Full of Letters”:

Direct download of complete show in MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Wellmont Theatre
Montclair, NJ USA

Digital Audience Master Recording
Recorded from Front Rows of Balcony

DPA 4061s > Edirol R-09 > 24/48 wav files > Soundforge (channel loss patches, close clapping reductions, level adjustments, downsample, set fades) > CD Wave > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries)

Recorded by ErikB
Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 2:56:57]
01 [introduction]
02 Ashes of American Flags
03 Wilco (The Song)
04 I Am Trying to Break Your Heart
05 Bull Black Nova
06 You Are My Face
07 One Wing
08 A Shot In The Arm
09 Muzzle of Bees
10 Deeper Down
11 Summerteeth
12 Misunderstood
13 California Stars
14 Impossible Germany
15 Poor Places
16 Spiders (Kidsmoke)
17 You And I
18 Kamera
19 [banter – dinners]
20 Hesitating Beauty
21 Laminated Cat
22 When You Wake Up Feeling Old
23 Dreamer In My Dreams
24 Outta Mind (Outta Sight)
25 Airline to Heaven
26 I’m Always In Love
27 Candyfloss
28 Jesus, Etc.
29 Box Full of Letters
30 Can’t Stand It
31 Hate It Here
32 You Never Know
33 Walken
34 I’m the Man Who Loves You
35 Thank You Friends [Big Star]
36 In The Street [Big Star]
37 [encore break]
38 Casino Queen
39 Outtasite (Outta Mind)
40 Hoodoo Voodoo

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Wilco, visit their website, and purchase their official releases directly from the band here.


3 Responses to Wilco: April 3, 2010 Wellmont Theatre – Flac and MP3 Downloads (Streaming Sample)

  1. Lowden
    June 23, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    Once again, thanks so much for releasing this great concert! I’ve been DYING to hear their Big Star covers again! Appreciate all that you do for the website!

  2. Chris
    June 25, 2010 at 7:50 am

    Awesome! I’ve been hoping this recording would show up, and even if it’s not up to the usual NYC Taper standards, I really appreciate it. I’ll be making my first donation to the site this morning.

  3. joe
    July 2, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    Thanks so much for the show. Yeah the sound in this place was not so hot. I thought the band reacted well the second night. Jeff was on his acoustic most of the night. And they played with a much more relaxed feel, hence all the ‘Being There’ tracks. I really enjoyed both nights & was so glad to have reserved balcony seats for this night. Nearly 6 hour of WILCO in 2 days, I was glad to sit. I thought it sounded much better from the balcony too. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.