Benevento Russo Duo: August 27, 2010 Highline Ballroom – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Sample

August 30, 2010

[photo courtesy of Greg Aiello]

The only Benevento Russo Duo concert of the entire calendar year 2010 took place on Friday night at Highline Ballroom and it was truly a special event. We’ve seen quite a bit of Marco Benevento playing with his trio over the last couple of years, and Joe Russo has played with several units including the Gene Ween Band. But, despite the Duo’s divergent career paths over the last two years, Marco took time out to give the crowd good news — The Duo are still a team and intend to record new music this year. As Joe has also become the full-time drummer for Furthur with former members of the Grateful Dead, it was perhaps appropriate that the longest and spaciest song of the evening was a twenty-minute trip through “Blues For Allah”. Other eclectic takes on some mainstream covers were mixed in with Duo staples (including “Becky” steaming below) for a 100-minute set of outstanding material. As the satisfied crowd slowly left the Highline, it was clear to all that the Duo are indeed very much still alive.

I recorded this set with a feed from the soundboard mixed with the DPA’s in the room. The sound quality is outstanding. Enjoy!

Many thanks to Highline’s excellent FOH sound engineer Peter for his generous assistance and his superb mix, to Lauren for the arrangements, and to Highline for their hospitality.

Stream “Becky”:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

This Recording is now available to Download in FLAC and MP3 on [HERE].

Benevento Russo Duo
Highline Ballroom
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + DPA 4021s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:41:18]
01 Tartan & Sabia
02 Are You The Favorite Person of Anybody?
03 Sunny’s Song
04 Awards
05 [banter]
06 Walking, Running, Viking
07 Purple Jr.
08 Blues For Allah (Grateful Dead)
09 Best Reason To Buy The Sun
10 Words (Neil Young)
11 Sabbath (Brad Mehldau)
12 Play, Pause, Stop
13 [encore break]
14 One Rainy Wish (Jimi Hendrix)
15 Becky

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Benevento Russo Duo, visit their website, and purchase their official releases from the Store at their website [HERE].

6 Responses to Benevento Russo Duo: August 27, 2010 Highline Ballroom – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Sample

  1. ben
    August 30, 2010 at 2:04 am

    thanks! Saw Benevento is coming to my local venue in a few weeks and it got me wondering what had happened to these guys.

  2. August 30, 2010 at 8:21 am

    Nice to finally meet you real quick Dan. I just got this clip up today. It’s also from the encore “Becky”.

  3. August 30, 2010 at 11:56 am

    Thanks so much for this, was stuck on the other coast. Awesome work. Cleantone’s video is also amazing. Long live The Duo!

  4. August 30, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    you were right dan…it sounds amazing. great job once again.

  5. MP
    August 30, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    Great stuff, thank you

  6. September 7, 2010 at 8:28 am

    My video of Play Pause Stop

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.