Deerhunter: August 12, 2010 Pier 54 – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Sample

August 13, 2010

[photo courtesy of Natasha Ryan]

The last time we saw Deerhunter, it was two years ago (at Music Hall) and the band was riding the success of Microcastle and performing as a five-piece band. Bradford and the band were relaxed and playing with more confidence than ever. In the intervening two years, Deerhunter has not been particularly active as a touring band, as Bradford has released an Atlas Sound album (and tour) and the band got busy recording the next album — Halcyon Digest due for release on September 28 on 4AD Records. Last night in the rain at Pier 54, Deerhunter returned to NYC as a four-piece and played a blistering guitar-heavy set that featured four new songs and several re-worked older numbers. Of note were the upbeat “Rainwater Cassette Exchange”, a long (eight minute) shimmering “Fluorescent Grey” (streaming below) and the completely rabid twenty-minute “Nothing Ever Happened” that devolved into a lengthy multilayered and looped guitar jam. Deerhunter means business with this more muscled approach and we expect that Halcyon Digest will be a superb new release.

This set was recorded with our mobile DPA rig from the first row on the rail, directly in front of the left PA stack at about 15 feet. The recording has an in-your-face directness and clarity, but the sound mix in the outdoor venue was spotty at times, and often over-modulated Bradford’s guitar. With those caveats, enjoy!

Stream “Fluorescent Grey”:

Direct download of complete show in MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Pier 54
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Recorded from Front Row
15 Feet From Left Stack

DPA 4021’s > Marantz PMD-660 (Oade BCM) > 16bit 44.1 wav > Soundforge (set fades, level adjustment, slight eq) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by
nyctaper 2010-08-13

[total time 1:19:53]
01 Desire Lines
02 Hazel Street
03 Revival
04 Rainwater Cassette Exchange
05 Never Stops
06 Spring Hall Convert
07 Fountain Stairs
08 Wash Off
09 Fluorescent Grey
10 Helicopter
11 [encore break – loops]
12 Cover Me (Slowly)
13 Agoraphobia
14 Nothing Ever Happened / Jam

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Deerhunter, visit their MySpace page, visit the band blog, visit the Halcyon Digest page, and purchase Halcyon Digest when it is released by 4AD Records [here].

10 Responses to Deerhunter: August 12, 2010 Pier 54 – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Sample

  1. KJ
    August 13, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    Yes!! I am missing their boston show tonight, thanks so much for this!

  2. nicole
    August 13, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    Did you also record Real Estat’se set?

  3. Smintjes
    August 14, 2010 at 11:13 am

    Thank you!

  4. August 15, 2010 at 1:34 am

    Real Estate was recorded and is coming soon.

  5. J
    August 16, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    You guys are so fucking awesome for recording this. Great job battling the weather.

  6. Mike
    August 16, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    Nice recording, but the lead guitar totally eats the rest of the recording on ‘Nothing Ever Happened.’ Bummer

  7. August 16, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    Yeah, I know. That’s why I said in the write-up “the sound mix in the outdoor venue was spotty at times, and often over-modulated Bradford’s guitar”.

  8. frottage
    August 17, 2010 at 1:58 am

    Desire Lines just officially pumped me up for this album

  9. Manuel
    August 17, 2010 at 6:38 am

    Awesome brother… I was hoping someone recorded the show…Can’t wait to see them at Webster..

  10. gyorgykustov
    August 18, 2010 at 5:25 am

    Thanks so much for this–saw Deerhunter not too far back, a great live band

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.