O’Death: August 20, 2010 Rock Shop – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Sample

August 22, 2010

[photo courtesy of Jason House]

At a packed Rock Shop on Friday night, it all came back to O’Death. For a band that has only played literally a handful of shows in the last year, their performance was incredibly energetic and inspired. As the band drew from their entire catalog, the frenzied crowd fully participated in the exchange. A series of obscure request calls resulted in a b-side Pixies cover (“Nimrod’s Son”) and a song (Track 20) that we have never heard. The O’Death standards (including “Down To Rest” streaming below) were all played, and when the band announced the end of the show and traditional “Yonder Christian” set closer was performed, the crowd left with full appreciation that a band almost left for dead was still very much alive and kicking.

I recorded this set with the Neumanns set up in front of the booth and mixed with a feed from the board. The sound in the room and the crowd energy was superb, so that the mix relies more (about 60/40) on the audience feed. The sound quality is excellent. Enjoy!

Stream “Down To Rest”:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

This Recording is now available to Download in FLAC and MP3 at Archive.org [HERE].

The Rock Shop
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:10:25]
01 Adelita
02 Only Daughter
03 On An Aching Sea
04 Underwater Nightmare
05 [equipment break]
06 Angeline
07 Spider Home
08 Home
09 Fire On Peshtigo
10 Mountain Shifts
11 Legs To Sin
12 Grey Sun
13 Spitfire
14 [banter]
15 Lowtide
16 [banter/birthday]
17 Down To Rest
18 [banter]
19 Nimrod’s Son (Pixies)
21 [banter]
22 Allie Mae Reynolds
23 [banter]
24 Yonder Christian

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT O’Death, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their latest from the Store at the O’Death website [HERE]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.