The Extra Lens: October 21, 2010 Mercury Lounge – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

October 26, 2010

[photo courtesy of Amanda Hatfield]

At the Thursday night Mercury Lounge show, John Darnielle described The Extra Lens material as the songs that he has written that amuse bandmate Franklin Bruno. Although the songs certainly resemble Darnielle’s Mountain Goats material (with three “Going to…” titles), The Extra Lens songs do move lyrically towards a lighter and more satiric tone. Last week, the band released Undercard — their first album in eight years — and the Mercury setlist began with mostly the new material but covered most of the band’s output and even included a few Mountain Goats songs. Highlights included early single “I Hear The Planets”, first album closer “Going to Marrakesh” (streaming below) and their cover of Leonard Cohen’s “Memories” (also from the first album) that featured John mingling among the crowd. Darnielle will return to NYC with the Mountain Goats this coming Spring.

The set was captured in the same manner as the Vanderslice recording, and the sound quality is outstanding. Enjoy!

Stream “Going to Marrakesh”:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Direct download of complete show in MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Extra Lens
Mercury Lounge
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:06:06]
01 [introduction]
02 The River Song
03 [tuning/banter]
04 Adultery
05 Rockin’ Rockin’ Twilight Of The Gods
06 [banter]
07 Baltimore
08 Ambivalent Landscape Z
09 Dogs of Clinic 17
10 [banter]
11 Programmed Cell Death
12 I Hear The Planets
13 Going to Marrakesh
14 [banter]
15 Only Existing Footage
16 [banter]
17 How I Left The Ministry
18 Cruiserweights
19 [banter]
20 Infidelity
21 Going To Michigan
22 Carmen Cicero
23 Houseguest
24 [encore break]
25 Memories (Leonard Cohen)

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The Extra Lens, visit their artist page at the Merge Records website, and purchase Undercard from the Merge Records website [HERE].

One Response to The Extra Lens: October 21, 2010 Mercury Lounge – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

  1. November 8, 2010 at 10:38 am

    Man, I really do love you guys from NYCTaper! Thanks a thousand times for all the good music I have discovered here, and have yet to discover!

    Cheers, Doc Sanchez

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.