Buffalo Tom: November 18, 2010 Mercury Lounge – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

November 22, 2010

[photo courtesy of podbay]

In their twenty-five year existence, Buffalo Tom has run the gamut of band identities — from late-80s up-and-comers taken under the wing of Dinosaur Jr., to early-mid 90s major label alt-rock juggernaut, to early an 00s hiatus, and ultimately as a current rejuvenated success story. At a packed Mercury Lounge for last Thursday’s early show, the Tom revealed that early 2011 will see the release of a new album. Several new songs were unveiled throughout the set, including rockers “Guilty Girls” and “Down”, and the quality of the new material holds up well to the classics featured during the show — “Taillights Fade”, “Sodajerk” and “Staples” (streaming below). Bill spent much of the show engaged in comedic and good-natured banter with the crowd, who sang along throughout the show. As a band that’s truly comfortable in their skin, Buffalo Tom shows no signs of moving onto any nostalgia phase, but continue to make engaging and relevant music.

I recorded this set with the four microphone rig placed at the front right corner of the soundboard booth. While there is some chatter during the quieter numbers, the rich bass presence and vocal clarity of this recording make it an excellent listen. Enjoy!

Stream “Staples”:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Direct download of complete show in MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Buffalo Tom
Mercury Lounge
New York, NY USA

Four-Track Digital Master Recording
Recorded from Front of Soundboard Booth

Neumann KM-150s + DPA 4021’s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:25:01]
01 Rachael
02 Guilty Girls
03 [banter]
04 Larry
05 I’m Allowed
06 Tree House
07 [banter]
08 Summer
09 [banter]
10 Arise, Watch
11 Think About It
12 You’ll Never Catch Him
13 [banter]
14 Kitchen Door
15 [Cortez The Killer intro]
16 Taillights Fade
17 Staples
18 [banter]
19 Frozen Lake
20 [banter]
21 Clobbered
22 [banter]
23 Down
24 Crutch
25 [encore break]
26 Tangerine
27 Sodajerk
28 Late At Night
29 [banter]
30 Death Party [Gun Club]

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Buffalo Tom, visit their website, and purchase their official releases from the Store at their website [HERE] or from the New West Records website [HERE].

8 Responses to Buffalo Tom: November 18, 2010 Mercury Lounge – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

  1. cspeca
    November 22, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    Much thanks for posting this! Wish I could have gone! The quality is pretty good, I appreciate your sharing!

  2. November 22, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    .: Thanks very much for posting this entry with the links to the songs (and for using my photo from the May 2010 Mercury Lounge show). I’m downloading the tunes as I type this, and look forward to listening to them afterward.

  3. November 22, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    Thanks for this, hope they do more shows in 2011!

  4. blureu
    November 23, 2010 at 8:22 am

    Sweet! Thanks!

  5. Lawrence
    November 23, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    Finally i can listen to some new BT songs, many thanks.

  6. Blureu
    November 24, 2010 at 10:51 am
  7. Jeff
    November 26, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    Thanks a lot. This is great for BT fans.

  8. CK
    April 5, 2011 at 6:08 am

    Wow, Thanks for this, it’s great!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.