Richard Barone: November 13, 2010 Maxwell’s – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

November 19, 2010

[photo by nyctaper]

In his thirty years in the music industry, Richard Barone has played just about every role imaginable — singer, writer, producer, director, promoter, musical director, and author. Last Saturday, he returned to the place where it all began, Maxwell’s. Barone led the very first band to perform in the venue in 1980, and his Bongos appeared there more than any other band over the years. The occasion last weekend was the release of Richard’s album Glow. Co-produced by the legendary Tony Visconti, Glow is a stunning achievement — his first studio album in seventeen years and an album which rivals the pop brilliance of his best work, 1987’s Cool Blue Halo. The show opened with the first two tracks from the album, and for the next seventy minutes, the crowd was treated to much of the new material along with career highlights. The set also contained three Bongos songs, including “Numbers With Wings” (streaming below) and the classic “Barbarella” as the encore. Several times, Richard noted the outstanding performance of his band, which includes long time collaborator Nick Celeste, and the excellent electric violinist Deni Bonet. Richard Barone is currently on tour, but returns to NYC on December 1, for a special show at St. Mark’s Church in the East Village.

We recorded this set as we do most of the captures from Maxwells, with the mic stand mounted inside the right front corner of the soundboard booth and mixed with a soundboard feed. The sound quality is excellent. Enjoy!

Stream “Numbers With Wings”:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Direct download of complete show in MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Richard Barone
Hoboken, NJ USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + DPA 4021s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:09:50]
01 [introduction]
02 Gravity’s Pull
03 Glow
04 [banter]
05 Girl (T Rex)
06 Tiger Nights
07 Odd Girl Out
08 [banter]
09 I Belong To Me
10 Flew A Falcon
11 Radio Silence
12 Satellite of Love (Lou Reed)
13 River To River
14 Its Only Love (Beatles)
15 [banter]
16 Candied Babes
17 Numbers With Wings
18 [banter/band introductions]
19 Yet Another Midnight
20 Glow
21 Barbarella

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Richard Barone, visit his website, and purchase Glow from the Bar-None Records website [HERE].

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.