Wormburner: December 10, 2010 Mercury Lounge – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

December 23, 2010

[photo by Tim Besa]

The shortcut description of Wormburner the band is a cross between The Hold Steady and Camper Van Beethoven. The most striking aspect of the band is the Finn/Lowery styled matter-of-fact talking vocals of band leader Steve “Hank” Henry. In fact, the band’s 2006 debut album (A Hero’s Welcome) was produced by Camper’s David Lowery. But where Hold Steady can be aloof, and Camper sarcastic, Wormburner is a more sincere band than either of the comparisons. Hank’s lyrics are frank and often poignant slices of life that capture the ordinary lives of their protagonists. At Mercury Lounge on Friday last, Wormburner celebrated the vinyl release of their new album Placed by the Gideons at an event that also served as a holiday party for the band and their friends. As a tribute to the superb quality of the new album, the Gideons material highlighted the set, particularly “Pike City Proper” (streaming below) and “The Interstate”. In the spirit of the evening, the band closed the set with two holiday numbers.

I recorded this set with the Neumann microphones placed in the soundboard area and mixed with a soundboard feed. Unfortunately, the festive nature of the event led to a very high volume of crowd chatter which required me to mix the board feed at about 75%. As a result, the mix is typical for a board feed — vocal and kick-drum heavy with the instruments too far in the background. With that caveat, enjoy!

Stream: “Pike City Proper”:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Direct download of complete show in MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Mercury Lounge
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 48:28]
01 Stolen Tags
02 Sleepy Jane
03 Peekskill
04 A Hero’s Welcome
05 Astronauts
06 Muscle Car
07 Little Things
08 [banter]
09 Two Kinds of People
10 Pike City Proper
11 [banter2]
12 The Interstate
13 [banter3]
14 (Christmas) Bells of St. Ignatius
15 Holiday Road [Lindsey Buckingham]

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Wormburner, visit their website, and purchase their official releases from the Store at their website [HERE].

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.