Woods: February 4, 2011 Monster Island Basement – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

February 7, 2011

[photo by PP]

Friday night’s Woods show at Monster Island was billed as an acoustic duo, but soon evolved into a near full band Woods show. Jeremy and Jarvis were originally scheduled to perform the entire set together, but were ultimately joined by Lucas, and Matt and Alex from Real Estate/Ducktails. The set’s unique nature was further enhanced by the fact that the band performed seven new songs among a 13-song show. Opening with two pieces of new material presented a challenge for the young-ish and packed-in crowd, but after the band began to play in earnest, they received full attention. The crowd was rewarded with a stunning ten-minute “Bend Beyond” (streaming below), which has taken on the role of Woods jam piece during recent sets. The four new songs performed in the middle of the set were quiet minor-chord folk numbers, but thereafter “Born to Lose” (also streaming below), began quietly and developed into a seven minute full band psychedelic jam. The set closed with two familiar numbers, and despite calls for an encore the lateness of the hour required that the band call it a night. Woods will continue with two final shows in their tour with Ducktails, tonight in Philadelphia and Tuesday in Baltimore, before heading to Europe for much of March.

I recorded this set with the Neumann microphone mounted on a pole fifteen feet from the stage, and mixed with a feed from the board. There was some minor hiss in the system and in the PA that is evident during quieter moments, but its not distracting to this overall excellent recording. Enjoy!

Stream “Bend Beyond”:

Stream “Born To Lose”:

Direct download of complete show in MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Monster Island Basement
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 16bit 44.1kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 53:19]
01 Pushing Onlys
02 I’m Not Gone
03 Bend Beyond
04 [tuning]
05 Be All Be Easy
06 Rain On
07 To Clean
08 Get Back
09 Pick Up
10 Wouldn’t Waste
11 Say Goodbye
12 Born To Lose
13 Suffering Season
14 Blood Dries Darker

If you email nyctaper for access to these recordings, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Woods, visit their website, and purchase their official releases, including their latest At Echo Lake from Woodist Records [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to Woods: February 4, 2011 Monster Island Basement – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

  1. t
    February 7, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    This is fantastic, thanks!!! Did you record Ducktails as well? Saw him a while ago, but his set got cut short.

  2. February 7, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    I did record Ducktails. I haven’t reviewed the files yet, but if it came out well (as I expect) then it will be on the site in the next week or so.

  3. t
    February 7, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    Thanks a lot, I will look forward to hearing the recording. I really appreciate the time that you put into these!

  4. Rob Strong
    March 18, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    My Woods recording from Monday this week:

    01 Pushing Onlys
    02 I’m Not Gone
    03 Suffering Season
    04 Bend Beyond
    05 Blood Dries Darker
    06 Wouldn’t Waste
    07 Be All Be Easy
    08 Rain On
    09 Pick Up
    10 Say Goodbye
    11 To Clean
    12 Get Back

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.