British Sea Power: March 21, 2011 Maxwell’s – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

March 24, 2011

[photos by Joshua Trupin]

Three years is an eternity is the music business. It was the Spring of 2008 when British Sea Power last played in the US — a wild gig at Maxwell’s that we captured in all its glory. The show was a typical end-of-tour no holds barred event that featured much crowd participation and some crowd-surfing by the band. Since that tour, BSP has released a soundtrack and a six-song EP, and they are back in 2011 with a new album, Valhalla Dancehall (Rough Trade Records). On Monday, Maxwell’s was the opening night of the new tour and the vibe couldn’t have been any more different than three years ago. The crowd was somewhat subdued, and at the outset the band was all business. The show gradually loosened up, so that by the time the band reached “Lights Out”, the energy was flowing. The setlist was a nice mix of the band’s catalog, with much emphasis on their superb 2008 release Do You Like Rock Music?. British Sea Power will continue with this current US tour throughout March and much of April, and the final night of the tour is a return to NYC and Bowery Ballroom on April 21.

I recorded this show from our standard location in this venue and the sound is excellent. Enjoy!

Stream “It Ended on an Oily Stage”:

Direct download of complete show in MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

British Sea Power
Hoboken, NJ USA

Digital Master Recording

Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:42:33]
01 Who’s In Control?
02 Remember Me
03 We Are Sound
04 Apologies
05 Stunde Null
06 Lights Out For Darker Skies
07 The Land Beyond
08 Once More Now
09 Mongk II
10 No Lucifer
11 Zeus
12 Thin Black Sail
13 It Ended on an Oily Stage
14 [banter]
15 Oh Larsen B
16 Waving Flags
17 The Great Skua
18 Carrion / All In It
19 [encore break]
20 Spirit of St. Louis

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT British Sea Power, visit their website, and purchase their new release Valhalla Dancehall from Rough Trade Records.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.